No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Barren County Nursing and Rehabilitation

300 Westwood Street, Glasgow, KY 42141 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 94 certified beds · (270) 651-9131 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (270) 651-9131 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 10 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
  • about 35% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

2/5
CMS overall
2 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
310 N L Rogers Wells Blvd · (270) 659-5865 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
415 S L Rogers Wells Blvd · (270) 651-7948 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
Food Lion0.3 mi
214 S L Rogers Wells Blvd · (270) 651-1718 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Cleveland Ave · (270) 651-9012 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating3★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased6.8%13.8%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight1.7%6.6%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection1.0%1.6%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms1.7%17.7%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury7.0%3.9%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened5.7%14.0%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication35.9%29.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine93.7%96.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers8.0%4.8%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control20.8%19.0%21.2%typical
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table6.6%16.1%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.7%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine94.8%83.5%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission19.8%24.2%22.6%better
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit31.3%13.7%12.0%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.561.941.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.732.141.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

45.4% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 63 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

45.4%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
11.1%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
14.3%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.42U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.19hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.16hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.07hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 14.3% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 35 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.42 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 72% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 7% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF45.4%CMS range 33.7–58.751.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF11.1%CMS range 6.9–15.910.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge14.3%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge14.3%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge5.7%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified85.1%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay2.1%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened2.1%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization6.2%CMS range 3.0–11.57.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.411.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.43
RN hours/ resident / day
0.68
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.03
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.14
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.16
RN hoursweekends
51.9%
Total nursing turnover
36.4%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 94 beds and averages 89.6 residents a day — about 95% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs essentially full — expect a waiting list. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.14 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.43 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.03 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.66 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.33 on weekdays — 20% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.54 to 0.16 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 52% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

4
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-08-08)
2
at the previous standard inspection (2023-03-09)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

10 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-08-08 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to store, prepare, distribute, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety, which had the potential to affect 89 of the facility's 89 residents who consumed food from the kitchen. Observation of the kitchen area revealed food items were exposed to the air and/or potential contamination. Both the refrigerator and dishwasher area had strong odors, and several areas of the kitchen were soiled. One of the facility's ice machines, which was used to serve ice to the residents, was not clean. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Food Receiving and Storage, revised 07/2014, revealed food shall be received and stored in a manner that complies with safe food handling practices. Per this policy, all foods stored in the refrigerator or freezer would be covered. Continued review of the policy revealed food services or other designated staff would maintain clean food storage areas at all times. 1. Observation during initial tour of the kitchen on…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-08 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolated
    Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for one (Resident (R) 60) of 19 sampled residents. The resident was assessed with skin tears on admission and through the Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment process. However, the facility failed to care plan this specific, active care need. In addition, staff failed to implement care plan interventions by providing care as ordered for R60. The findings include:Review of the facility policy titled Comprehensive Care Plans, revised on 03/03/2025, revealed it was the policy of the facility to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident to meet a resident's medical, physical, mental, and psychosocial needs. The comprehensive care plan would describe services to be furnished to attain or maintain the resident's highest practical physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being, and specific interventions that reflect the resident's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-08 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy it was determined the facility failed to ensure that one (Resident (R) 60) of 19 sampled residents received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice and the comprehensive person-centered care plan. Staff failed to provide treatment in accordance with the care plan and physician orders for R60, who had non-pressure related skin impairment. The findings include:Review of the facility policy titled Skin Integrity - Skin Tears, dated 01/02/2020 and revised on 03/24/2022, revealed it was the policy of the facility to provide proper treatment and care to maintain skin integrity. This policy pertains to the prevention and management of skin tears. The facility would utilize a systematic approach for the prevention and management of skin tears, including assessment, care planning, monitoring, and modification of interventions as appropriate.Review of the Resident Face Sheet revealed the facility admitted R60 to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-08 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to provide respiratory care as care planned and ordered for one (Resident (R) 91) of 19 sampled residents. Staff failed to ensure that oxygen therapy was delivered in accordance with physician orders. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Oxygen Administration, dated 01/02/2021, revealed oxygen therapy would be administered only under the order of the physician. Per this policy, the care plan shall identify interventions to include the type of oxygen delivery system and equipment setting for prescribed flow rates.Review of the Resident Face Sheet revealed the facility admitted R91 to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses that include chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).Review of the Comprehensive Care Plan, reviewed 06/10/2025, revealed R91 had a problem for respiratory/pulmonary. Per the care plan, R91 had a respiratory problem with impaired gas exchange related to COPD. Interventions…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-03-09 · tag F0585 — failed to handle grievances — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interviews, record review, facility document review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a consistent process was in place for addressing resident grievances and maintaining evidence of efforts to resolve grievances for one (1) of one (1) sampled residents reviewed for grievance concerns (Resident #42) of a total sample of twenty-nine (29) residents. Interview with Resident #42 on 03/06/2023 at 10:46 AM, revealed the resident had expressed concerns about his/her roommate, and missing items. Further interviews revealed the facility failed to complete a grievance and make efforts to resolve the grievance. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Resident and Family Grievances, dated 01/04/2020, revealed the facility would support each resident's and family member's right to voice grievances without discrimination, reprisal or fear of discrimination or reprisal. The policy also revealed grievances may be voiced in the following forms: a verbal complaint to a staff member or Grievance Official, written complaint to a staff…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-03-09 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, interviews, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure food was covered during transport to two (2) (Gold and [NAME] Hall) of five (5) resident hallways to prevent potential contamination of residents' food. This deficient practice had the potential to affect forty-six (46) residents who resided on the Gold and [NAME] Halls. Observations on 03/07/2023 and 03/08/2023, revealed staff parked a covered meal tray cart between Room nine (9) and Room ten (10) on the Gold Hall. Continued observation revealed staff carried residents' meal trays to Rooms #1 (one), #10 (10), and #12 (twelve). The meal trays contained sugar cookies, salads, and beverages that were uncovered and exposed to air. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, Assistance with Meals, not dated, revealed the policy did not address covering food items during meal delivery. Observation on 03/07/2023 at 11:32 AM, revealed staff parked a covered meal tray cart between room [ROOM NUMBER]…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-04 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolated
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the care plan was reviewed and revised for one (1) of eighteen (18) sampled residents (Resident #40). Resident #40 was on anti-coagulant therapy and required diabetic care for insulin dependent diabetes; however, there were no interventions documented on the Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) care plans so the CNA's would know what care/precautions to provide the resident. The findings included: Review of the facility policy titled, Care Plans, Comprehensive Person-Centered, dated December 2016 revealed a Comprehensive, person-center care plan that includes measurable objectives and timetables to meet the resident's physical, psychosocial and functional needs is developed and implemented for each resident. The comprehensive, person-centered care plan will include measurable objectives and timeframe's and will describe the services that are to be furnished to attain or maintain the resident's…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-12-04 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to ensure two (2) of three (3) sampled residents reviewed for respiratory care in the selcted sample of eighteen (18) received necessary respiratory care and services that is in accordance with professional standards (Residents #69 and #72). Observations on 12/02/19, 12/03/19, and 12/04/19, revealed Resident #69's nebulizer was not being stored properly when not in use. Further observation revealed Resident #72 did not have a No Smoking/Oxygen in use sign posted outside the door. The findings include: Review of the facility policy, Oxygen Administration, not dated, revealed in order to ensure safe oxygen administration a No Smoking/Oxygen in Use sign should be placed outside of the room entrance door. Review of the facility policy, Administering Medications through a Small Volume Nebulizer, not dated, revealed equipment should be stored in a plastic bag when not in use. Record review revealed the facility admitted Resident #69 on 07/27/15, with diagnoses which include Chronic Obstructive…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-12-04 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure drugs and biological's used in the facility must be labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles, and include the the expiration date when applicable related to four (4) insulin pens not being dated when opened; and a bottle of Tums not being stored appropriately. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy, titled, Storage of Medication, not dated, revealed if a medication was not dated the facility was to use the pharmacy dispense date as the date opened. Further review of the policy revealed Review of the facility's policy revealed the facility shall store all drugs and biological's in a safe, secure, and orderly manner. Observation of two (2) of four (4) medication carts, on 12/02/19 at 2:06 PM, revealed one (1) medication cart with four (4) insulin pens not dated when opened. Interviews on 12/02/19 with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1 at 2:15 PM and LPN #2 at 2:20 PM revealed any multi-dose vial of medication…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-12-04 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — isolated
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety related to lack of hand sanitation during meal pass. The findings include: Review of facility policy,Assisting the Resident with In-Room Meals, not dated, revealed if there is contact with soiled dishes, clothing or the resident's personal effects, the employee must wash his/her hands before serving food to the next resident. Observation during a meal pass on 12/02/19 at 12:06 PM, on the one-hundred [NAME] Hall (100) hall, revealed a staff member failed to sanitize her hands while distributing and setting up trays for three residents. Further observation revealed she pulled soiled privacy curtains twice during the tray pass and failed to sanitize her hands. Interview with Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) #1 on 12/02/19 at 12:19 PM, revealed she should have sanitized her hands after touching contaminated items and in between residents while passing trays. Interview with the Director of Nursing (DON) on 12/04/19…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to SIMCHA HYMAN & NAFTALI ZANZIPER — 79 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 2 of 52.6-0.6 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 52.7+0.3 vs chain
Staffing 1 of 52.2-1.2 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 53.4-0.4 vs chain
The other 78 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)
1 of 5Beavercreek Health And RehabBeavercreek, OH 1 of 5Bradford Heights Nursing & RehabilitationHopkinsville, KY 1 of 5Centerville Health And RehabDayton, OH 1 of 5Clayton Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterClayton, NC 1 of 5Dade City Health And Rehabilitation CenterDade City, FL 1 of 5Englewood Health And RehabEnglewood, OH 1 of 5Fulton Nursing and Rehabilitation, LLCFulton, KY 1 of 5Gainesville Health and RehabilitationGainesville, FL 1 of 5Garden View Health And Rehabilitation CenterVero Beach, FL 1 of 5Hertford Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterHertford, NC 1 of 5Longwood Health And Rehabilitation CenterLongwood, FL 1 of 5Lotus Village Center for Nursing and RehabilitatioSparta, NC 1 of 5Magnolia Creek Nursing And RehabilitationCovington, TN 1 of 5Mills Nursing & RehabilitationMayfield, KY 1 of 5Mountain Ridge Health and RehabilitationMonticello, KY 1 of 5Naples Health And Rehabilitation CenterNaples, FL 1 of 5Southpoint Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterDurham, NC 1 of 5Spring View Nursing & RehabilitationLeitchfield, KY 1 of 5Sunrise Point Health And Rehabilitation CenterRockledge, FL 1 of 5Windsor Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterWindsor, NC 1 of 5Winter Park Care And RehabilitationWinter Park, FL 1 of 5Xenia Health And RehabXenia, OH 2 of 5Accordius Health at Rose Manor LLCDurham, NC 2 of 5Bellbrook Health And RehabBellbrook, OH 2 of 5Cherokee Park RehabilitationLouisville, KY 2 of 5Clinton PlaceClinton, KY 2 of 5Collierville Nursing And Rehabilitation, LlcCollierville, TN 2 of 5Eden Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterEden, NC 2 of 5Fairpark Health And RehabilitationMaryville, TN 2 of 5Glenview Health and RehabilitationGlasgow, KY 2 of 5Green Acres HealthcareMayfield, KY 2 of 5Jamestown Place Health And RehabJamestown, OH 2 of 5Lilac At Bayview, TheSaint Augustine, FL 2 of 5Madisonville Health and Rehabilitation, LLCMadisonville, KY 2 of 5Midtown Center For Health And RehabilitationMemphis, TN 2 of 5Pelican Health at CharlotteCharlotte, NC 2 of 5River Grove Health And RehabilitationLoudon, TN 2 of 5Stonecreek Health and RehabilitationPaducah, KY 2 of 5Sycamore Heights Health and RehabilitationLouisville, KY 2 of 5Venice Health And Rehabilitation CenterVenice, FL

Showing 40 of 78; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
VUJANOVIC, MICKIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2021
CLEARVIEW HEALTHCARE MANAGEMENT KY LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 03/11/2025
ROWE, SARAHIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/10/2025
HYMAN, SIMCHAIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2018
KISER, AMELIAIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 10/01/2024
ZANZIPER, NAFTALIIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 12/01/2018

CMS files one row per role, so the 10 rows in the source record cover these 6 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$7.9M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+3.2%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$2.7M
Related-party expense35% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 72%Medicare 8%Other / private 20%

About 72% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $2.7M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 35% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$269per resident / day
operating cost
$8,192per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$278per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in KY

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Kentucky
$9,718/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$11,254/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,528/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185229. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-08, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next