Owenton Healthcare and Rehabilitation
905 Highway 127 North, Owenton, KY 40359 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 100 certified beds · (502) 484-5721 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Jan 2026
- it has citations for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0604, F0609, F0610) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- a high number of inspection citations overall (18) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $8,512 in federal fines (most recent 2024-12-30)
- its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
- about 22% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 3 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 3 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 1.8% | 13.8% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 5.6% | 6.6% | 5.4% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.5% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.2% | 1.6% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 9.5% | 17.7% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 2.5% | 0.2% | 0.1% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 1.3% | 3.9% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 3.5% | 14.0% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 31.2% | 29.8% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 95.2% | 96.2% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.3% | 4.8% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 14.5% | 19.0% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 12.3% | 16.1% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 2.8% | 1.7% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 37.8% | 83.5% | 79.4% | worse |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
29.0% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — CMS rates that worse than the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 40 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.20 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 23% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 15% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 29.0%CMS range 19.0–46.3 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | worse than U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.4%CMS range 7.9–15.3 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.0%CMS range 3.9–10.5 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.12 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 100 beds and averages 83.9 residents a day — about 84% occupied, or roughly 16 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.10 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.76 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.87 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.70 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.27 on weekdays — 18% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.91 to 0.41 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 36% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
18 citations, most serious first. The 11 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.
- Actual harm · G2024-12-30 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to ensure residents received treatment and care in accordance with professional standards of practice for 1 of 3 sampled residents, (Resident (R)3). R3 began vaginal treatment with Monistat 7 (antifungal vaginal cream) for a yeast infection on 11/29/2024. R3 had complaints of pain and discomfort. The facility transferred R3 to a hospital on [DATE]. At the hospital, R3 had a computed tomography (CT) scan performed which revealed the resident had a foreign object present in her vaginal canal, which was later determined to be a Monistat vaginal cream applicator. R3 stated the whole situation was unnecessary, caused her unnecessary pain and was humiliating. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Provision of Quality Care, revised 02/01/2024, revealed based on comprehensive assessments, the facility was to ensure residents received treatment and care by qualified persons in accordance with professional…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-01-16 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Number of residents sampled: Number of residents cited: Based on interview, record review, document review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to protect the resident's right to be free from physical abuse by another resident for two (Resident (R) 60 and R70) of three sampled residents reviewed for abuse. Resident-to-resident abuse occurred in two different incidents. On 10/02/2025, R60 swatted R70 and made contact with the resident's chest. On 10/27/2025, R65 hit R60 on the shoulder. Findings included: A facility policy titled, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation, reviewed 06/2025, revealed, Policy: It is the policy of this facility to provide protections for the health, welfare and rights of each resident by developing and implementing written policies and procedures that prohibit and prevent abuse, neglect, exploitation and misappropriation of resident property. Per the policy, Abuse means the willful infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation, or punishment with resulting physical harm, pain or mental anguish, which can include.certain residents to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-01-16 · tag F0692 — failed to prevent malnutrition and dehydration — isolatedProvide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure one (R) 4) of two sampled residents reviewed for nutrition received their diet as ordered. R4, who was at nutritional risk, failed to receive his physician-ordered therapeutic diet for additional protein and fortified foods. Findings included: Review of a facility policy titled, Therapeutic Diet Orders, reviewed 06/2025, indicated, Policy: The facility provides all residents with foods in the appropriate form and/or the appropriate nutritive content as prescribed by a physician, and/or assessed by the interdisciplinary team to support the resident's treatment/plan of care, in accordance with his/her goals and preferences. The policy specified, 5. Dietary and nursing staff are responsible for providing therapeutic diets in the appropriate form and/or the appropriate nutritive content as prescribed. Review of a resident demographic record revealed the facility admitted R4 on 11/28/2019. According to the resident demographic record, the resident had a medical history that included…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-08-09 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — patternDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident, consistent with resident rights that included measurable objectives and timeframes for 7 of 28 sampled residents (R). R1, R5, R22, R36, R61, R64 and R76 were observed in the dining room consuming meals without the assistive devices or nutritional supplements they had been care planned to receive. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Comprehensive Care Plans, revised on 02/28/2024, revealed it was the policy of the facility to develop and implement a comprehensive person-centered care plan for each resident to meet the resident's medical, physical, mental and psychosocial needs. 1. Review of the Face Sheet for R1 revealed the facility admitted the resident on 07/01/2005, with diagnoses to include; chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), type 2 diabetes, and dysphagia. Review of the…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-09 · tag F0806 — failed to honor food preferences — patternEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to accommodate food preferences for 5 of 7 sampled residents (R) 61, R36, R22, R76 and R64. Observation during the noon meal service on 08/06/2024 at 12:17 PM, revealed the facility failed to provide residents with their nutritional supplements and double portions as ordered by the physician. The findings include: 1. Review of the Face Sheet located in R61's medical record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 07/03/2024, with diagnoses that included; dementia, Alzheimer's Disease with late onset, and chronic kidney disease stage 3. Review of the admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) Assessment for R61 dated 07/07/2024, revealed the facility assessed the resident as having a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of three out of 15, indicating severe cognitive impairment. Review of the MDS further revealed the facility assessed the resident as dependent on staff for eating. Review of a physician's order for R61…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-08-09 · tag F0810 — patternProvide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation interview and review of facility policy, it was determined the facility failed to provide special adaptive equipment and utensils for residents who needed them when consuming meals and snacks for 5 of 15, out of 28 sampled residents, (R)1, R5, R22, R76, and R64. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Adaptive Self Feeding Devices, undated, revealed the use of adaptive, self-help feeding devices was encouraged when determined to be helpful to the resident. Continued review revealed the dietary department was responsible for all sanitizing of adaptive utensils after each use and for placing the devices on the meal trays as needed. 1. Review of the Resident Face Sheet for R1 revealed the facility admitted the resident to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses to include: chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), type 2 diabetes, and dysphagia. Review of the Quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed the facility assessed R1 to have a Brief…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-09 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY The facility failed to ensure all alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation, or mistreatment, including injuries of unknown source and misappropriation of resident property, were reported immediately, but not later than 2 hours after the allegation was made for 3 of 23 sampled residents (R)2, R48, R86. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Resident Rights dated 01/02/2020, and revised 02/16/2024, revealed the facility ensured all staff were educated on the rights of residents and the responsibility of the facility to properly care for its residents. Further review of the policy revealed the resident had the right to be treated with respect and dignity. Review of the facility policy titled, Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation reviewed/revised 08/2023, revealed the facility was to protect the health, welfare, and rights of each resident by developing and implementing written policies and procedures that prevented abuse. Continued review revealed the abuse prohibition plan…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-09 · tag F0610 — failed to investigate and act on abuse reports — isolatedRespond appropriately to all alleged violations.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review and review of facility policy, the facility failed to prevent further potential abuse, neglect, exploitation, or mistreatment while the investigation was in progress for 1 of 23 sampled residents (R), R86. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation reviewed/revised 08/2023, revealed the facility was to protect the health, welfare, and rights of each resident by developing and implementing written policies and procedures that prevent abuse. Continued review revealed instances of abuse of residents could cause harm, pain, or mental anguish, and the facility was to make efforts to ensure all residents were protected during an investigation. Review of the facility investigation for an incident involving R86 on 10/25/2023 at around 11:30 AM, revealed the resident alleged Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) 8 hit his/her leg. Continued review revealed the facility sent the CNA home for the day. Further review revealed education for CNA 8 on resident rights, signed by the aide on 10/27/2023. Additional review…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-08-09 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of the facility's policies, the facility failed to ensure its staff performed hand sanitation measures and maintained appropriate infection control measures during medication administration for 3 out of 39 sampled residents (R47, R52, R16, R57), which placed residents at increased risk for healthcare-associated infections (HAI). The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Infection Prevention and Control, dated 09/03/2021 and revised 02/21/2024, revealed all hand hygiene was to be performed in accordance with the facility-established hand hygiene procedures. Review of the facility policy titled, Medication Administration Guidelines dated May 2022 for medication administration the general guidelines noted the person administering medication was to adhere to good hand hygiene, to include washing hands thoroughly. Observation on 08/08/2024 at 9:30 AM, revealed two hand sanitizer dispensers located at each end of the resident hallways available for staffs' use. Observation on 08/08/2024 at 10:12 AM, of medication…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2019-10-31 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview and review of facility Policy, it was determined the facility failed to prepare and store food under sanitary conditions. Observation on 10/29/19, during initial kitchen tour, revealed two (2) beverage pitchers were not labeled or dated, the ingredient bins had dry dusty food particles on the outside and the kitchen had a general dusty appearance. In addition, observation revealed the Manager in Training was not using correct procedure to to measure the sanitizer in the pot and pan sink. Continued observation of the kitchen on 10/29/19, revealed two (2) holes in the back wall over the back prep table. In addition, the floors to the base boards appeared soiled; window sills were dusty; walls throughout the kitchen needed paint, and paint was peeling off the wall near the hand sink. Further, the exhaust hood fire extinguisher pipes were dusty; the pot and pan rack over the prep table was dusty; the ceiling vents were dusty; and the top shelf of the prep table was dusty and had a greasy feel. Additionally, interviews with Dietary Staff on 10/31/19,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2019-10-31 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — patternDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, it was determined the facility failed to develop and implement a Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) for each resident, that includes measurable objectives and timeframes to meet a resident's needs for four (4) of twenty-two (22) sampled residents (Residents #9, #33, #42, #56). Resident #9's Monthly October 2019 Physician's Orders, revealed current orders for left hand splint as needed dated 11/28/16; and gentle stretch and wear left resting hand splint at night, dated 02/10/17. However, there was no documented evidence the facility developed the CCP to include interventions related to the left resting hand splint. Additionally, the resident was discharged from Physical Therapy (PT) on 10/17/19, with recommendations to transition to the Restorative Nursing Program (RNP) in order to maintain current level of function with bed mobility, and bilateral lower extremity (BLE) Active Range of Motion (AROM). However, there was no documented evidence the facility developed or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 7 citations
- Potential for harm · E2019-10-31 · tag F0688 — failed to keep residents mobile / prevent decline — patternProvide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility Policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure a resident with limited mobility received appropriate services, equipment, and assistance to maintain or improve mobility with the maximum practicable independence unless a reduction in mobility is demonstrably unavoidable for four (04) of five (05) residents reviewed related to Limited Range of Motion (ROM) out of twenty-two (22) sampled residents (Resident # 9, Resident #33, Resident #42, and Resident #56). Resident #9's Monthly October 2019 Physician's Orders, revealed current orders for left hand splint as needed and Therapy evaluation and treatment as recommended, dated 11/28/16; and gentle stretch and wear left resting hand splint at night, dated 02/10/17. In addition, the resident was discharged from Physical Therapy (PT) on 10/17/19, with recommendations to transition to a Restorative Nursing Program (RNP) to maintain current level of function with bed mobility, and bilateral…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2019-10-31 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — patternEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of facility Policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure each resident receives food and drink that is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature. Observation of the test tray conducted on the 200 unit at the lunch meal service on 10/31/19, revealed the hot foods were not hot, the cold foods were at room temperature, and some food items were not palatable. In addition, interviews with Resident #29 and #49, revealed foods were not served at appropriate temperatures and was not palatable. The findings include: Review of the facility Food Handling Policy, dated 10/01/15, revealed temperature control for food safety must maintain an internal temperature of forty one ( 41) degrees Fahrenheit or lower, and one hundred forty five (145 ) degrees Fahrenheit or higher while being held for service. Further review revealed during transportation of food from the kitchen to the dining room/resident room, care is to be taken to keep hot food hot, and cold food cold, and food protected from contamination. Interview with…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-31 · tag F0584 — failed to keep a safe, clean, comfortable home — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and interview, it was determined the facility failed to provide maintenance services necessary to maintain a safe clean and comfortable environment for the 100 unit residents. Observation of the 100 unit hall ceiling vents from rooms 101 through 115, on 10/29/19, 10/30/19, and 10/31/19, revealed dust accumulation. The findings include: Review of the facility Resident Rights under Federal Law Policy, undated, revealed residents had the right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment including, but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safety. The Center must provide housekeeping and maintenance services necessary to maintain a sanitary, orderly, and comfortable interior. Observation on 10/29/19 at 12:30 PM; 10/30/19 at 10:00 AM; and 10/31/19 at 2:00 PM, revealed dust accumulation in the ceiling vents of the 100 unit hall from rooms 101 through room [ROOM NUMBER]. Interview on 10/31/19 at 2:45 PM, with the Maintenance Director, revealed the vents were…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-31 · tag F0604 — failed to not use physical restraints improperly — isolatedEnsure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility Policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure each resident was free from any physical restraints imposed for purposes of discipline or convenience, and not required to treat the resident's medical symptoms, for one (01) of one (1) sampled resident reviewed for restraints out of twenty-two (22) sampled residents (Resident # 33). The facility initiated a self-releasing alarming seatbelt to Resident #33's wheelchair as a fall intervention, on 02/11/19. However, there was no documented evidence they Physician's Order identified the medical symptom being treated when using the restraint. In addition, observation on 10/29/19, revealed Resident #33 was sitting in the joy room (dining room) in his/her wheelchair at a table, with no staff in the room. The residents self-releasing seatbelt wiring was underneath the wheelchair arm. At the State Surveyor's request, Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #1 released the seatbelt; however, it did not sound. The facility failed to identify the alarming seatbelt restraint was…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-31 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on interview, record review, review of facility Policy, and review of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) Manual 3.0, it was determined the facility failed to ensure the Comprehensive Care Plan (CCP) was reviewed and revised by an interdisciplinary team composed of individuals who have knowledge of the resident and his/her needs for two (02) of twenty-two (22) sampled residents (Resident #33 and Resident #56). Resident #33 sustained a fall on 10/18/19 and the Fall Investigation revealed a fall floor mat was placed on the favored side of the bed; however, there was no documented evidence which side of the bed was the favored side (left/right) or that the Care Plan was revised to include this intervention. Further, there was no documented evidence of a Root Cause Analysis of the fall in the investigation or in the medical record in order to revise the Care Plan with appropriate interventions to prevent falls of the same nature. (Refer to F-689) Further, Resident #56 sustained a fall on 10/12/19, and the Fall Investigation…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-31 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolatedEnsure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility Policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure adequate supervision and assistive devices to prevent accidents for two (02) of four (4) sampled residents reviewed for falls out of twenty-two (22) sampled Residents (Resident #33 and Resident #56). Resident #33 sustained a fall on 10/18/19 from his/her bed, and received a skin tear injury. The Fall Investigation revealed a fall floor mat was placed on the favored side of the bed; however, there was no documented evidence which side of the bed was the favored side (left/right) or that the Care Plan was revised to include the intervention to place a fall mat on the favored side of the bed. In addition, there was no documented evidence of contributing factors of the fall, specifics of the fall or the Root Cause Analysis of the fall in the investigation or in the medical record in order to implement interventions to prevent falls of the same nature. (Refer to F-657) Further, Resident #56 sustained a non-injury fall on 10/12/19, from his/her bed. The Fall…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-31 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolatedEnsure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of facility Policy, it was determined the facility failed to ensure residents are free of any significant medication errors for one (1) of twenty-two (22) sampled residents. Resident #55 did not receive injections of Lantus insulin 10 units daily as ordered by the Physician from 10/01/19 through 10/30/19. The findings include: Review of the facility's Medication Administration NSG305, revised 07/01/19, revealed medication doses will be administered within one (1) hour of the prescribed times unless otherwise indicated by the prescriber. Review of Resident #55's medical record revealed the facility admitted the resident on 09/17/19 with diagnoses including Diabetes Mellitus. Review of Resident #55's Physician's Orders dated 09/21/19, revealed orders for Lantus insulin 10 units to be injected subcutaneous one (1) time a day for treatment of Diabetes Mellitus. Along with the Lantus insulin, the Physician also ordered Metformin 500 milligrams to be given twice a day, and Victoza Solution 1.2 milligrams to be injected…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$8,512 in federal fines across 1 penalty.
- $8,512 — penalty dated 2024-12-30
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to SIMCHA HYMAN & NAFTALI ZANZIPER — 79 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 4 of 5 | 2.6 | +1.4 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.7 | +0.3 vs chain |
| Staffing | 3 of 5 | 2.2 | +0.8 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 5 of 5 | 3.4 | +1.6 vs chain |
The other 78 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 78; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| JOHNSON, CHRISTINA | Individual | CONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEE | since 04/01/2023 |
| RANDALL, KAYLA | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | since 06/20/2022 |
| VUJANOVIC, MICK | Individual | CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 07/01/2021 |
| CLEARVIEW HEALTHCARE MANAGEMENT KY LLC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 07/01/2021 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 5 rows in the source record cover these 4 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 78% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $1.8M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 22% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in KY
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Kentucky Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 185364. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-01-16, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.