PruittHealth- Bamberg
439 North Street, Bamberg, SC 29003 · For profit - Individual · 88 certified beds · (803) 245-7525 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- it has abuse, neglect, or exploitation citations (F0600, F0602) — most recent Sep 2023
- it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
- it has 1 actual-harm citation
- inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
- a high number of inspection citations overall (17) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- the CMS record shows $34,606 in federal fines (most recent 2025-05-08)
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
- its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)
- about 25% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 2 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 2 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 2 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 2 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 3 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 11.1% | 11.9% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 9.7% | 6.3% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 1.4% | 0.6% | 0.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 5.1% | 1.3% | 2.0% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 0.4% | 3.1% | 6.5% | better than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 3.7% | 3.2% | 3.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 8.9% | 12.7% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 28.8% | 21.0% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 90.6% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 5.0% | 5.1% | 4.7% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 10.7% | 16.7% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 21.9% | 15.3% | 17.1% | worse |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 2.3% | 1.5% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 85.4% | 78.0% | 79.4% | typical |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.19 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 20% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 5% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 11.2%CMS range 7.3–15.8 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 88 beds and averages 82.5 residents a day — about 94% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.24 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.32 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.85 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.48 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.54 on weekdays — 30% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.37 to 0.18 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 38% is about the same as the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
17 citations, most serious first. The 12 most serious are shown; the remaining 5 are one tap away and print in full.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2023-08-29 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interviews, and review of the facility's policy, the facility failed to protect 1 of 6 residents, from physical abuse by a staff member. Specifically, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)1 admitted to local law enforcement that she pinned Resident (R)7's arms to her chest, put her hands over R7's mouth and hit her multiple times. On 08/29/23 at approximately 10:00 AM, the State Agency (SA) determined that the facility's non-compliance with one or more federal health, safety, and/or quality regulations has caused or was likely to cause serious injury, serious harm, serious impairment, or death. On 08/29/23 at approximately 10:30 AM the Administrator was notified that the failure to protect R7 from physical abuse by CNA1 constituted Immediate Jeopardy at F600. On 08/29/23 at 10:30 AM, the survey team provided the Administrator with a copy of the CMS Immediate Jeopardy (IJ) Template and informed the facility IJ existed as of 02/20/23. The IJ was related to 42 CFR 483.12 Freedom from Abuse,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Actual harm · G2023-09-21 · tag F0602 — failed to protect residents from theft of their belongings — isolatedProtect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to protect and prevent misappropriation of Resident (R)1's personal funds. Findings include: Review of facility policy titled Prevention of Patient Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation, Mistreatment, and Misappropriation of Property last revised 10/27/20, revealed It is the policy of the facility and its affiliated entities to actively preserve each patient's right to be free from verbal, sexual, physical, and mental abuse, corporal punishment, involuntary seclusion, neglect, exploitation, mistreatment, and misappropriation of patient property. Misappropriation of property means the deliberate misplacement, exploitation, or wrongful, temporary or permanent use of a patient's belongings or money without the patient's consent. Review of R1's Face Sheet revealed R1 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including, but not limited to: congestive heart failure, cognitive communication deficit, hypertension, and type 2…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Ecited before2026-05-29 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to store food properly in one of two designated resident refrigerators on the hallways and failed to serve milk at a temperature of 41 degrees Fahrenheit (F) or below from the kitchen's lunch tray line. These failures had the potential to create an environment for food-borne illnesses which could affect the 42 residents who resided on the 100 hallway and/or who were served milk during the lunch meal. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, . Patients/Residents' Personal Food, with a revised date of 05/12/23, indicated, Policy Statement: It is the policy of PruittHealth to allow the patient/resident's family to provide food items for patient/resident consumption. The patient/resident's personal food will be maintained in a clean environment to ensure sanitary storage, appropriate food handling and safe consumption of foods brought into the facility by residents' family, and visitors . Procedure . 4. Food item(s)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-29 · tag F0577 — isolatedAllow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, review of the monthly resident council meeting minutes, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure reports with respect to the most recent Federal or State survey inspection results, certifications, complaint investigations, and any plans of correction during the three preceding years were readily accessible to residents and/or family members. The facility failed to ensure this information was posted in areas of the facility that are prominent and accessible to the public. This failure had the potential to affect all 80 residents residing in the facility. This had the potential to cause residents and visitors to be uninformed of survey, certification, and complaint investigation findings. Findings include: Review of the past six months of the Resident Council Meeting Minutes, dated 12/03/25, 01/21/26, 02/25/26, 03/25/26, 04/25/26, and 05/20/26, revealed no documentation that the State survey inspection results, certifications, complaint investigations, or plans of correction were discussed with residents as to where the information was posted for residents…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2026-05-29 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and review of the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI) manual, the facility failed to ensure two resident's Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments were accurately coded regarding having a feeding tube and receiving intake by an artificial route for one resident (Resident (R)67), and having a pressure ulcer over a boney prominence for R77 out of 23 sampled residents. This failure had the potential to affect the care planning and provision of needed services.Review of the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument [RAI] Instrument 3.0 User's Manual, dated October 2025 and located at https://www.cms.gov/files/document/final-mds-3-0-rai-manual-v1-20-1-october-2025.pdf indicated, . In addition, an accurate assessment requires collecting information from multiple sources, some of which are mandated by regulations. Those sources must include the resident and direct care staff on all shifts, and should also include the resident's medical record, physician, and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-29 · tag F0745 — failed to provide medically-related social services — isolatedProvide medically-related social services to help each resident achieve the highest possible quality of life.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and facility policy review, the facility failed to ensure ongoing communication was taking place and documentation was provided regarding updates, referrals made to other skilled nursing facilities regarding the potential discharge, placement, and transition of care for one resident (Resident (R)71) in attaining and maintaining the resident's highest practicable well-being out of 23 sampled residents. This failure had the potential to affect the resident in a negative way by not receiving information from the Social Services Director (SSD) regarding her requests. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Discharge Planning, revised 02/24/25, indicated, . Discharge planning will begin with each patient/resident and patient/resident's representative upon admission. The process is coordinated by Social Services.Definitions: Community resources are services and agencies that have the potential to improve the quality of life in the community and to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2026-05-29 · tag F0805 — failed to prepare food in a form residents can eat — isolatedEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, record review, interview, and review of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Diet Manual, the facility failed to provide food in a form to meet the needs for one resident (Resident (R)23) out of two reviewed for nutritional status out of 23 sampled residents. This failure had the potential to cause nutritional needs to go unmet for residents who had a physician's diet order to be served finger food prepared from the facility's kitchen.Findings include: Review of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Diet Manual, provided by the facility, indicated, . Finger Foods Some patients may be able to feed themselves, eat adequately, and be more independent if they are able to use their fingers to pick up foods. Utensils may become harder to use for some patients depending on their condition and/or age. Allowing patients to be as independent as possible during mealtime may improve their nutritional intake. Most foods can be eaten without utensils, but this requires creativity and planning. Review of R23's Face Sheet, located under the Resident tab of the electronic…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2025-08-25 · tag F0755 — failed to provide safe pharmacy services — widespreadProvide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of facility policy, record reviews, and interviews, the facility failed to properly account for and reconcile controlled medications to prevent potential loss, diversion, or accidental exposure. This deficiency is evidenced by the missing controlled drug record sheet for Resident (R)4, 1 of 3 residents reviewed. Review of a facility policy titled, Controlled Substances for Healthcare Centers, last reviewed 04/01/25 revealed, It is the policy of PruittHealth Pharmacy that medications listed as controlled substances (Schedules I-V) under federal or state regulations will be properly stored with maintained accountability. Reconciliation of controlled substances will be performed at the end of each shift by licensed professional nurses. This policy applies to all nursing staff in a healthcare center serviced by PruittHealth Pharmacy. Records . 5. Current Controlled Drug Record forms are maintained in the narcotic book. When completed, the sheets are submitted to the Director of Health Services and…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-05-08 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on observation, interview, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to store, prepare, and serve food in accordance with professional standards for food service safety, in 1 of 1 kitchen. Findings include: Review of the facility policy titled Dietary Partner Hygiene and Dress Code last revised on 06/14/16, revealed, It is policy of the facility for partners working in the Dietary Department to dress in a manner appropriate for preparing, handling, and serving food that prevents contamination and spread of bacteria. This applies to all dietary partners, and any person(s) who handles and served food employed by the facility. Hygiene: hair is covered with hair net and or/cap. Facial hair is completely covered with a hair net or beard guard. Review of the facility policy titled Labeling, Dating, and Storage last revised on 11/11/22, revealed, It is policy of the facility for all partners who assist in handling, preparing, and serving food and beverage items to follow the proper procedures for labeling, dating, and storage to ensure proper food safety. Food and beverage…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-05-08 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — patternEnsure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observations, record review, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure food was at appropriate temperature and palatable for four of five residents (Resident (R) 22, R26, R81, and R35) reviewed for the food palatability of 25 sample residents. This failure had the potential for residents who disliked a meal to experience nutritional problems or dissatisfaction with their meals. Findings include: 1. Review of R22's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 02/20/25 and located under the MDS 3.0 tab of the electronic medical record (EMR), revealed she was admitted to the facility on [DATE] and had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of eight out of 15 which indicated moderately impaired cognition. During an interview on 05/06/25 at 1:40 PM, R22 stated the food sucks, adding that it was too salty and was always cold. 2. Review of R26's quarterly MDS assessment with an ARD of 04/23/25 and located under the MDS 3.0 tab of the EMR, revealed she was admitted…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-05-08 · tag F0554 — isolatedAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure medications in the resident's room were deemed safe for self-administration for one of 22 Initial Pool residents (Resident (R) 22) observed for medications in the room. This failure placed R22 at risk for medication errors, accidental overdose, or misappropriation of her medications. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Self-Administration of Medications by Patients/Residents, dated 01/06/25, revealed All nurses and aides are required to report to the Charge Nurse on duty any medications found at the bedside not authorized for bedside storage and to give unauthorized medications to the Charge Nurse for return to the family or responsible party. Families or responsible parties are reminded of this procedure and related policy when necessary .When the interdisciplinary team determines that bedside or in-room storage of medications would be a safety risk to other patients/residents, the medications…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-08 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolatedTimely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and review of facility policy, the facility failed to ensure that an allegation of injury of unknown source was reported to the State Survey Agency (SSA) within two hours of discovery for one of four residents (Resident (R) 2) reviewed for abuse of 25 sample residents. The failure to timely report the incident created a risk for potential further abuse or injury. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Reporting Patient Abuse, Neglect Exploitation, Mistreatment, and Misappropriation of Property, dated 11/15/24, revealed In accordance with applicable laws and regulations, the Administrator or his or her designee should notify the appropriate state agency (or agencies) .of any allegation or incident .The state survey agency .should be notified in accordance with state law through established procedures of any allegations of abuse, neglect, exploitation or mistreatment, including injuries of an unknown source and misappropriation of patient property, within 2…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 5 citations
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-05-08 · tag F0641 — isolatedEnsure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure the Minimum Data Set (MDS) accurately reflected the status of two of 25 sample residents (Resident (R) 32 and R48) whose MDS indicators were reviewed in Initial Pool. These failures created a potential for lack of identification of current problems and resident needs, leading to an incomplete or ineffective plan of care. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, MDS Assessment Accuracy, dated 01/11/24, revealed It is the policy of this healthcare center that each Minimum Data Set (MDS) reflects the acuity and the medical status of each patient/resident in accordance with acceptable professional standards and practices. 1. Review of R32's Face Sheet tab of the electronic medical record (EMR) revealed she was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including bipolar disorder, traumatic brain injury, mood disorder, depression, and anxiety, Review of R32's quarterly MDS with an Assessment Reference Date…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-05-08 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure staff, and a visitor used the proper personal protective equipment (PPE) when in contact with one of one resident (Resident (R) 82) who was on transmission-based precautions (TBP) out of a census of 79 residents. This failure had the potential to spread infection among the visitors, staff, and other residents. Findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Transmission-Based Isolation Precautions, dated 12/11/23, revealed Personal protective equipment (PPE) is provided for everyone who needs to care for or visit a resident on isolation precautions .Contact Precautions .Personal Protective Equipment (PPE): 1) Gloves: Perform hand hygiene prior to donning gloves. -Wear gloves (clean, non-sterile gloves are adequate) upon entry into the room. -Wear gloves when touching the resident's intact skin, surfaces and items near the resident. 2) Gowns -Perform hand hygiene prior to donning gown. -Don a gown upon entry…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2024-01-26 · tag F0919 — failed to provide a working call system — patternMake sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to have adequate equipment to allow residents to call for staff assistance through a communication system which relays the call directly to a staff member or to a centralized staff work area. Specifically, the call light system did not function in residents' rooms 102, 103, 108, 109, 111, 113, 117, 128, 210, 215 and the facility did not provide residents in these rooms an alternate means to communicate with nursing staff, such as a manual bell to ring when the resident's required assistance from nursing staff. The facility also failed to have a policy and procedure to direct staff when call lights malfunction, and to ensure that another method to call for assistance was implemented. Findings include: During an interview on 01/24/24 at 11:01 AM, the Maintenance Director revealed that he was aware on 12/11/23 that rooms 103, 108, 111, and 202 call light systems were not functioning. The Maintenance Director stated that not all ordered parts have been received…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-01-26 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, interview, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure care plan interventions were implemented for one of three sampled residents (Resident (R) 22) reviewed for pressure ulcers. Specifically, the facility failed to implement the interventions of off-loading to a pressure ulcer on the left heel as indicated in the care plan. This failure had the potential for the resident to not receive the necessary care needed to promote healing of a pressure ulcer. Findings include: Review of the facility's undated policy titled, Pressure Injury Assessment and Documentation revealed, . Manage tissue loads: Positioning techniques and use of support surfaces . The goal of load management is to create an environment that enhances soft tissue viability and promotes healing of the pressure ulcer(s) . Avoid positioning residents on a pressure ulcer; avoid donut-type devices .Use devices such as pillows or foam to elevate the heels off the bed, and keep knees and ankles from touching or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-09-21 · tag F0554 — isolatedAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on review of facility policy, observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to assess and administer Resident (R)4's medications in a clinically appropriate manner, for 1 of 1 resident reviewed for medication. Findings include: Review of facility policy titled, Medication Administration: General Guidelines, last revised 04/10/19, revealed, Medications are administered as prescribed, in accordance with good nursing principles and practices and only by persons legally authorized to do so. Patient/residents are allowed to self-administer medications when specifically authorized by the attending physician and in accordance with procedures for self-administration of medications. Review of R4's Face Sheet revealed R4 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including, but not limited to: dementia without behaviors, depression, seizures, and type 2 diabetes. Review of R4's quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) with an Assessment Reference Date (ARD) of 07/20/23, revealed R4 had a Brief…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
$34,606 in federal fines across 4 penalties.
- $5,947 — penalty dated 2025-05-08
- $5,948 — penalty dated 2025-05-08
- $8,190 — penalty dated 2023-09-21
- $14,521 — penalty dated 2023-08-29
Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to PRUITTHEALTH — 95 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 2 of 5 | 2.9 | -0.9 vs chain |
| Health inspection | 2 of 5 | 2.8 | -0.8 vs chain |
| Staffing | 2 of 5 | 2.5 | -0.5 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 2 of 5 | 3.6 | -1.6 vs chain |
The other 94 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.9★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 94; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Since |
|---|---|---|---|
| ROBINSON, GWENDOLYN | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | since 06/21/2021 |
| PRUITT, NEIL | Individual | CORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 10/22/2008 |
| PRUITTHEALTH INC | Organization | OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL | since 10/22/2008 |
CMS files one row per role, so the 5 rows in the source record cover these 3 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted. The source lists no ownership percentage for any of them — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
About 87% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $2.3M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 25% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in SC
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the South Carolina Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 425104. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-05-29, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.