No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Beach Street Health And Rehabilitation Center

1001 S Beach Street, Daytona Beach, FL 32114 · For profit - Corporation · 99 certified beds · (386) 258-3334 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (386) 258-3334 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Behavioral-health or dementia-care citation — no harm found (F0758)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
  • about 28% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
  • its last standard health inspection was over 2 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 2 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★ 2/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
1033 S Ridgewood Ave · (386) 248-8000 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Walgreens0.8 mi
1541 S Ridgewood Ave · (386) 252-4450 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
2200 S Atlantic Ave · (386) 253-7713 · Call to confirm hours
Park
11 Bellevue Ave · (386) 671-8337 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
909 S Ridgewood Ave · (386) 243-0004

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased8.9%8.7%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight4.6%5.5%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.3%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.7%0.7%2.0%typical for the state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms6.0%4.6%6.5%typical
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury5.2%2.5%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened10.5%9.5%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication9.1%14.4%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%99.2%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers6.0%4.5%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control28.2%10.5%21.2%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table4.9%8.6%17.1%better
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.5%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine92.9%94.7%79.4%better
Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission21.6%26.1%22.6%typical
Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit3.6%9.1%12.0%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.692.131.67typical
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days0.251.151.80better

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
36.5%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.40U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.21hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.13hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.06hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 36.5% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 52 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.40 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 68% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 9% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 6.2–14.810.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge36.5%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge34.6%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge28.9%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified70.9%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting100.0%100.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay1.3%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization7.5%CMS range 4.0–12.27.1%Oct 2023–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.571.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.58
RN hours/ resident / day
0.94
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.51
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.02
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.43
RN hoursweekends
36.3%
Total nursing turnover
42.9%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 99 beds and averages 92.9 residents a day — about 94% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.02 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.58 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.51 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.55 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.21 on weekdays — 16% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.63 to 0.43 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 36% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

8
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2024-09-25)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2022-12-01)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 2 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

13 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-09-25 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure proper sanitation and food storage practices were adhered to in order to prevent the outbreak of foodborne illnesses. The findings include: During an initial tour of the kitchen with the Certified Dietary Manager on 9/23/2024, beginning at 11:00 AM, the following was observed: Three (3) salads prepared on individual plates with no date or label in reach in refrigerator #1. Two (2) undated cut halves of honey dew melon, 2 undated cut quarter slices of honey dew melon and 1 undated cut half of a watermelon without dates stored in the produce refrigerator. One (1) undated and unlabeled bag of diced vegetables stored in the produce refrigerator. Five (5) undated and unlabeled 5-ounce containers of pureed fruit in the pastry freezer. One (1) uncovered, undated and unlabeled picture of a red drink. Two (2) undated and unlabeled pitchers of beverages stored underneath raw meat products in the meat freezer. During an interview on 9/23/2024 beginning at 11:00 AM, the Certified Dietary Manager acknowledged not…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-09-25 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and policy and procedure review, the facility failed to maintain an infection prevention and control program designed to help prevent the transmission of communicable diseases and infection, by 1) failing to perform appropriate hand hygiene during medication administration for four (Residents #51, #80, #238, and #71) of eight residents observed for medication administration, and 2) failed to follow acceptable standards of care for enhanced barrier precautions for a central venous catheter for one (Resident #237) resident during medication administration from a total survey sample of 37 residents. Failure to follow proper infection control standards increases the risk of adverse health outcomes for facility residents, staff, and other facility occupants. The findings include: 1. During an observation of medication administration on 9/23/2024 at 12:03 PM, Staff B, Registered Nurse (RN), returned to the medication cart from the nurses station, removed medication cart keys from their pocket, unlocked the medication cart, activated the computer and typed…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-09-25 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — pattern
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to provide a safe, functional, and comfortable environment for residents, by not ensuring proper repair of hand rails in the north and south wings of the facility. The findings include: During an observation on 9/23/2024 at 11:59 AM of railings on South [NAME] wing, four caps were observed missing off of the end of the railing in the hall. The opened area of the rail was observed to have jagged metal exposed. During an observation on 9/24/2024 at 11:10 AM of railings on North [NAME] wing, three caps were observed missing off of the end of the railing in the hall. The opened area of the rail was observed to have jagged metal exposed. During an observation on 9/24/2024 at 11:40 AM with the Director of Maintenance, he confirmed the railings in South [NAME] and North [NAME] wing had missing caps with jagged metal exposed. During an interview with the Administrator on 9/24/2024 at 1:17 PM, the administrator stated, I know all of these need to be fixed. Review of the facilities policy and procedure titled Safe and Homelike…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-25 · tag F0644 — isolated
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure that residents with newly evident or possible serious mental disorder, intellectual disability, or a related condition were referred for a Level II evaluation and examination for two (Residents #67 and #60) of 37 residents sampled for Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR). The findings include: 1. Review of Resident #67's PASARR dated 5/10/22 documented a negative Level 1 with no mental illness or intellectual disability listed. Review of the admission record for Resident #67 revealed an initial admission date of 4/13/22 and a re-admission date of 5/10/22. Diagnosis listed on the admission record included other specified anxiety disorders dated 5/5/23. Review of the psychiatry note for Resident #67 dated 7/10/23 read, This is a [AGE] year-old patient with past history of anxiety and insomnia. On 5/5/23 patient was anxious. Patient was presented with compulsive behaviors of touching and playing with stomach. Patient reported itching…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-25 · tag F0645 — isolated
    PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and record review, the facility failed to ensure each resident was screened for a mental disorder or intellectual disability prior to admission to ensure those individual identified with mental disorders or intellectual disabilities are evaluated and receive care and services in the most appropriate setting for one (Resident #4) out of 37 residents sampled for Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR). The findings include: Review of the admission record for Resident #4 documented an initial admission date of 1/2/2018 with readmission dates following hospital stays on 12/28/23 and 3/29/24. Diagnoses included cerebral palsy unspecified (onset date 1/2/2018), generalized anxiety disorder (onset date 10/26/2020), bipolar disorder unspecified (onset date 1/2/2018), and major depressive disorder (onset date 5/20/2022). Review of the PASARR Level 1 screening for Resident #4 dated 12/28/2023 did not document anxiety disorder, bipolar disorder, depressive disorder or a related condition of cerebral palsy. The Level I screening for Resident #4 documented on page…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-25 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility staff failed to provide central venous catheter dressing changes as ordered in accordance with professional standards of practice for one (Resident # 237) out of one resident reviewed with a peripherally inserted central catheter, out of a total sample of 37 residents. The findings include: During an observation on 9/23/2024 at 10:25 AM, Resident #237 was sitting in bed with a right arm single lumen peripherally inserted central catheter (PICC) line. The transparent dressing was lifting up at the edges, exposing the insertion site. The date on the dressing was 9/10/2024. During an interview on 9/23/2024 at 10:30 AM, Resident #237 stated, They have not changed this (the PICC line dressing) since I was admitted , I get antibiotics for a blood infection. I have not been offered a dressing change. During an observation on 9/23/2024 at 2:30 PM, Resident # 237 was observed sitting up in bed with a right upper arm single lumen PICC line with date of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-09-25 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolated
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility staff failed to ensure that oxygen was administered consistent with professional standards of practice for two (Residents #80 and #187) out of four residents reviewed for respiratory care, from a total of 37 residents sampled. The findings include: 1. Review of Resident #80's admission record revealed the following diagnoses: cerebral infarction, unspecified (a stroke), acute respiratory failure with hypoxia (low levels of oxygen in the blood), acute pulmonary edema (fluid in the lungs), essential (primary) hypertension (high blood pressure), major depressive disorder, hypothyroidism, unspecified, and hemiplegia (paralysis of one side of the body), unspecified affecting right dominant side. Review of Resident #80's physician orders dated 4/8/24 reads, Oxygen at 2 liters/ min (minute) via nasal cannula with Humidification PRN (pro re nata) [as needed]-to keep O2 (oxygen) sat (saturation) above 90% as needed for SOB (shortness of breath). Review of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-09-25 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the facility failed to ensure drugs and biologicals were stored in a secured manner to limit unauthorized access to medications for three (Residents #78, #74, and #6) out of six residents reviewed for medication storage. The findings include: 1. During an observation on 9/23/2024 at 12:24 PM of Resident #78's room, one bottle of Tylenol PM (acetaminophen 500 milligrams (mg)) and diphenhydramine HCL 25 mg was sitting on dressing table unsecured. During an interview on 9/23/2024 at 12:24 PM Resident #78 stated I take one tablet every night and they know that I have it and take it. During an observation on 9/23/2024 at 2:50 PM of Resident #78's room, one bottle of Tylenol PM (acetaminophen 500 milligrams (mg)) and diphenhydramine HCL 25 mg was sitting on dressing table unsecured. During an observation on 9/24/2024 at 07:55 AM of Resident #78's room one bottle of Tylenol PM (acetaminophen 500 milligrams (mg)) and diphenhydramine HCL 25 mg was sitting on dressing table unsecured. During an observation in Resident #78's room on 9/24/2024…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2021-04-16 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observations and interviews, the facility failed to keep the kitchen safe from potential food contamination due to a ceiling area under which food was being prepared and distributed, having gaps and hanging tape on it. The findings include: On 4/13/21 at 1:40 pm, the kitchen's ceiling was observed with open areas and gaps. Some piping was visible. There was tape hanging from an area between ceiling tiles. One ceiling tile had a plastic, sheet-like covering that was hanging loose and had opening on one side where it had been taped up. On 4/15/21 at 11:30 am, the same observations were made of the kitchen's ceiling with no changes. Staff were observed working under open areas of the ceiling while preparing food. The areas of ceiling where gaps were observed have the potential to contaminate foods with dust/debris. On 4/16/21 at 11:50 am, the same observations were made of the kitchen's ceiling with no changes made. The residents' food was being prepared under open areas of ceiling that had gaps in it where dirt/dust or debris could fall into resident's food or food tray. The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2021-04-16 · tag F0921 — failed to keep a safe, functional, sanitary building — pattern
    Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure a safe, functional, sanitary environment for 41 of 72 residents by not replacing missing tiles, and not repairing an area on the wall which was covered with gray substance on one of two nursing units. The findings include: Observation of the shower room on South wing on 4/13/21 at 11:00 AM revealed green tiles missing around the sink area with a large gray area on the wall near venting unit with multiple white tiles missing. (photographic evidence obtained) Additional observations of the shower room on South wing were conducted on 4/14/21, 4/15/21 and 4/16/21. The shower room continued to have missing tiles with a large gray area on the wall. An interview was conducted with Employee B, Maintenance Assistant, at 9:10 AM on 4/16/21 concerning the observations in the shower room on South wing. He reported the sink was replaced in the shower room at least 6 months ago due to a leak and the tile was not replaced. He reported there was a leak and the tiles were taken down in order to reach the pipes and the leak. Employee…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Environmental Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-04-16 · tag F0582 — isolated
    Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review and interview, the facility failed to issue proper notices to inform each resident of services available in the facility and of charges for those services, including any charges for services not covered under Medicare/Medicaid or by the facility's per diem rate. This affected one of three residents reviewed. (Resident #22) The findings include: On 4/14/2021 at 3:03pm, the Business Office Manager provided the survey team with three incomplete Beneficiary Notice forms. She inquired about possible changes in the Skilled Nursing Care Advanced Beneficiary Notice (ABN), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) form 10055. She was advised to provide the documentation that was given to the residents selected for the beneficiary notice task. On 4/14/2021 at 3:21 pm, the Social Services Director provided the survey team with incomplete beneficiary notice forms. The ABNs, CMS forms 10055, were incomplete and not signed by the residents, and there were no Notice of Medicare Non-Coverage (NOMNC), CMS forms 10123 found for the residents. The form for Resident #22 indicated…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2021-04-16 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolated
    Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review and staff interview the facility failed to ensure an allowable diagnosis for the use of antipsychotic medication and to obtain new physician orders to extend duration beyond 14 days for an as needed psychotropic medication for 1 of 5 residents sampled for unnecessary medications from a total sample of 38. (Resident #23) The findings include: Record review for Resident #23 revealed a [AGE] year old male admitted on [DATE] and readmitted from the hospital on 3/30/21. His diagnoses included acute and chronic respiratory failure with hypercapnia, diabetes, osteomyelitis, major depressive disorder and anxiety. He was alert and oriented and required extensive assistance with activities of daily living. Upon admission he was ordered the medication Seroquel (antipsychotic) 25 mg at bedtime for anxiety and Xanax (antianxiety) 0.5 mg every eight hours, as needed for anxiety. Review of the Medication Administration Record (MAR) revealed Xanax 0.5 mg was ordered 3/30/21 and had not been used as of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2021-04-16 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and staff interview, the facility failed to ensure oral medications and external biological and topical treatments were kept in separate areas of the medication room for 1 of 2 medication rooms, medications were stored under proper temperature control, and expired medications were removed from one of four medication carts. The findings include: During an observation of the medication room on the the south wing on 4/16/21 at 12:15pm, the following was found: over the counter oral medications (milk of magnesia, Prostat, Promod) were commingled on the shelves with wound cleaners, Betadine (antiseptic external solution), and Hibiclens (solution for cleaning wounds). An interview with the unit manager at 12:20pm confirmed the oral medications were not separated from external solutions. Observation of the medication refrigerator on the north wing at 12:30pm with the unit manager (UM) found the temperature was at 38 degrees and the freezer section was totally engulfed with ice and the bottom shelf was very soiled. The UM confirmed the temperature and the refrigerator…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to SIMCHA HYMAN & NAFTALI ZANZIPER — 79 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.6+1.4 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 52.7+0.3 vs chain
Staffing 4 of 52.2+1.8 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 53.4+1.6 vs chain
The other 78 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.6★, per CMS)
1 of 5Beavercreek Health And RehabBeavercreek, OH 1 of 5Bradford Heights Nursing & RehabilitationHopkinsville, KY 1 of 5Centerville Health And RehabDayton, OH 1 of 5Clayton Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterClayton, NC 1 of 5Dade City Health And Rehabilitation CenterDade City, FL 1 of 5Englewood Health And RehabEnglewood, OH 1 of 5Fulton Nursing and Rehabilitation, LLCFulton, KY 1 of 5Gainesville Health and RehabilitationGainesville, FL 1 of 5Garden View Health And Rehabilitation CenterVero Beach, FL 1 of 5Hertford Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterHertford, NC 1 of 5Longwood Health And Rehabilitation CenterLongwood, FL 1 of 5Lotus Village Center for Nursing and RehabilitatioSparta, NC 1 of 5Magnolia Creek Nursing And RehabilitationCovington, TN 1 of 5Mills Nursing & RehabilitationMayfield, KY 1 of 5Mountain Ridge Health and RehabilitationMonticello, KY 1 of 5Naples Health And Rehabilitation CenterNaples, FL 1 of 5Southpoint Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterDurham, NC 1 of 5Spring View Nursing & RehabilitationLeitchfield, KY 1 of 5Sunrise Point Health And Rehabilitation CenterRockledge, FL 1 of 5Windsor Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterWindsor, NC 1 of 5Winter Park Care And RehabilitationWinter Park, FL 1 of 5Xenia Health And RehabXenia, OH 2 of 5Accordius Health at Rose Manor LLCDurham, NC 2 of 5Barren County Nursing and RehabilitationGlasgow, KY 2 of 5Bellbrook Health And RehabBellbrook, OH 2 of 5Cherokee Park RehabilitationLouisville, KY 2 of 5Clinton PlaceClinton, KY 2 of 5Collierville Nursing And Rehabilitation, LlcCollierville, TN 2 of 5Eden Rehabilitation and Healthcare CenterEden, NC 2 of 5Fairpark Health And RehabilitationMaryville, TN 2 of 5Glenview Health and RehabilitationGlasgow, KY 2 of 5Green Acres HealthcareMayfield, KY 2 of 5Jamestown Place Health And RehabJamestown, OH 2 of 5Lilac At Bayview, TheSaint Augustine, FL 2 of 5Madisonville Health and Rehabilitation, LLCMadisonville, KY 2 of 5Midtown Center For Health And RehabilitationMemphis, TN 2 of 5Pelican Health at CharlotteCharlotte, NC 2 of 5River Grove Health And RehabilitationLoudon, TN 2 of 5Stonecreek Health and RehabilitationPaducah, KY 2 of 5Sycamore Heights Health and RehabilitationLouisville, KY

Showing 40 of 78; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
DEMONS, KEITHIndividualW-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 03/16/2020
GORELICK, BATYAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 03/16/2020

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$10.4M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+1.6%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$2.8M
Related-party expense28% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 71%Medicare 15%Other / private 15%

About 71% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $2.8M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 28% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$329per resident / day
operating cost
$9,988per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$334per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in FL

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Florida Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Florida
$10,342/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$12,167/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,610/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 105002. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2024-09-25, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next