No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Avantara Clark City

201 8th Avenue NW, Clark, SD 57225 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 35 certified beds · (605) 532-3431 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (605) 532-3431 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0609) — cited Jan 20261 actual-harm citation$11,057 in federal fines
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • the CMS record shows $11,057 in federal fines (most recent 2024-09-12)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its facility-reported quality-measure rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

4/5
CMS overall
4 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 2 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★ 3/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
901 4th St NW · (605) 886-1565 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
211 N Commercial St · (605) 532-3400 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
106 N Commercial St · (605) 532-3434 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
606 N Commercial St · (605) 532-3915

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 2 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 2 of 5
Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital 2 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating improved from 1 to 4 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating4★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased31.8%21.3%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight9.7%5.6%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder4.4%2.1%0.9%worse than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection4.0%2.9%2.0%worse
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms60.6%5.7%6.5%check this — see note marked dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.9%5.5%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened18.6%19.4%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication10.5%17.4%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine87.5%96.9%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers5.3%4.6%4.7%worse
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control31.6%25.4%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table29.3%24.6%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication2.0%2.0%1.4%worse
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine65.7%78.2%79.4%worse

This value is several times the typical-state benchmark. It can be real, or it can be a coding artifact in what the facility submitted. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

51.2% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 25 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

51.2%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.2%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
31.8%U.S. median 56.6%
Met the expected recovery
0.29U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.17hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.09hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.02hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Met the expected recovery: 31.8% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 22 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.29 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 44% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 9% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF51.2%CMS range 36.7–65.451.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.2%CMS range 6.8–15.010.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge31.8%56.6%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge22.7%52.8%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge31.8%50.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified100.0%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay11.5%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened3.9%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.371.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.73
RN hours/ resident / day
0.72
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.72
Aide hours/ resident / day
4.17
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.59
RN hoursweekends
42.4%
Total nursing turnover
40.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 35 beds and averages 29.3 residents a day — about 84% occupied, or roughly 6 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 4.17 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.73 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.72 is at or above the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.49 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 4.44 on weekdays — 21% thinner on weekends — a notable drop. RN hours go from 0.78 to 0.59 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 42% is about the same as the national median of 45%.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2026-01-08)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2024-09-12)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Actual harm · Gcited before2024-09-12 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview, observation, and record review, the provider failed to ensure a bed frame was maintained and free of hazardous sharp areas for one of one sampled resident (1) who acquired a skin tear to her right lower outer ankle. Findings include: 1. Interview on 9/09/24 at 3:51 p.m. with resident 1 revealed: *She was lying in her bed and stated she had a cut on her right leg that was caused from the metal on her bed when they were putting her to bed after using the bathroom. *She stated she had no other skin concerns. 2. Record review of resident 1's skin alteration evaluations revealed: *On 8/18/24 resident 1 received a skin tear to her right outer ankle while CNA I transferred her into bed. -The skin tear measured 6.0 L X 3.0 W x 0.5 centimeters (cm) deep. -Resident 1 declined go to the emergency room (ER) for an evaluation. *The residents wound was cleaned, Steri strips and a gauze pad were applied, and then her leg was wrapped in a gauze bandage. -The family was notified and agreed that she would not go to the ER for evaluation of the right leg wound. *On 9/11/24 the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2026-01-08 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — pattern
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview, observation, document review, South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility reported incidents (FRI), and policy review, the provider failed to ensure: *An environment was free of flammable materials where two of two sampled resdients (2 and 26) were observed smoking. *Assistive devices were used for one of one 1 sampled resident (2) who used cigarette holders to prevent a burn. *Appropriate supervision for one of three sampled resident (26) while smoking. *Facility exit and interior doors functioned appropriately, and staff were re-educated as stated in the corrective actions in the 11/16/25 and 11/26/25 FRI regarding one of one closed sampled resident (37) who eloped outside and entered a room where chemicals were stored. Findings include: 1. Review of resident 2's electronic medical record (EMR) revealed: *His 10/15/25 Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score was 13, which indicated his cognition was intact. *He did not have a physician's orders to smoke. *He had…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2026-01-08 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — pattern
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure the staff followed infection control practices regarding: *Foley catheters (flexible tubing placed in the bladder to drain urine), tubing and urinary drainage bag placement for two of two sampled residents with foley catheter. *Hand hygiene by one of one registered nurse (RN) D observed administering medications to multiple residents during a noon meal service without sanitizing her hands in between each resident's medication administrations.*One of one certified nursing assistant (CNA) (F) observed without wearing a gown and gloves when transferring a resident (26) on enhanced barrier precautions (EBP), and did not clean the lift after transferring the resident. Findings include:1. Observation on 1/6/26 at 11:25 a.m. of RN D in the dining area administering medications to residents as they were seated for the noon meal revealed she did not sanitize her hands after each administration before preparing medications for the next…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-01-08 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on record review, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to report to the South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) that one of one sampled residents (2) received cigarette burns to his fingers. Findings include: 1. Review of resident 2's electronic medical record (EMR) revealed: *His 10/15/25 Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score was 13, which indicated his cognition was intact. *He did not have a physician's orders to smoke. *He had diagnoses of nicotine dependence and mild vascular dementia (a group of symptoms affecting memory, thinking, and social abilities). *His 10/15/25 smoking evaluation risk assessment indicated: -He was careless with smoking materials. -He was unable to safely light a cigarette. -He was not considered a safe smoker and required smoking management and supervision consistent with facility policy and may not have access to smoking material outside of supervised smoking. -He was to wear a smoking apron, be seated under the folding table, and a staff member was to light his cigarette. -He often attempted to smoke cigarettes down to…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-07-17 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility-reported incident (FRI), record review, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to provide adequate supervision and assistance to ensure the safety of one of one sampled resident (1) who fell while being transferred by certified nursing assistant (CNA) C who did not transfer the resident as directed in the resident's care plan and did not report the incident as a fall to the nurse for timely and appropriate assessment of the resident. This citation is considered past non-compliance based on a review of the provider's corrective actions immediately following the incident.Findings include:1. Review of provider's 7/1/25 SD DOH FRI for resident 1 revealed:* On 6/30/25 at 7:30 p.m. licensed practical nurse (LPN) E notified director of nursing (DON) D that certified nursing assistant (CNA) B stated resident 1 fell on 6/29/25.*CNA B reported to LPN E that CNA C had been looking for assistance to transfer resident 1 on 6/29/25 around 5:30 p.m. up from the floor.*There was no fall assessment completed.*No neurological…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · E2023-06-15 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — pattern
    Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, interview and policy review the provider failed to ensure the 48 hour nutritional care plans for two of four sampled residents (11 and 22) were updated in their comprehensive care plan. Findings include: 1. Review of resident 11's medical record revealed he: *Was admitted on [DATE]. *Had diagnoses that included: Anemia secondary to blood loss, type 2 diabetes mellitus with hyperglycemia and pneumonitis due to inhalation of other solids and liquids. *Was on a consistent carbohydrate (CCHO) diet. Review of resident 11's care plan problems initiated on 5/12/23 revealed: *Altered cardiovascular functioning related to post-op blood loss anemia. -The goal was to be free from signs and symptoms of complications of cardiac problems through the next review window. -The intervention was to give the diet as ordered. *Resident 11 was at risk for fluctuating blood sugars due to diabetes mellitus with hyperglycemia. -The goal was blood sugars would remain within parameters set forth by the physician…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2023-06-15 · tag F0700 — pattern
    Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review the provider failed to ensure quarterly side rail assessments were completed for three of seven residents (4, 5, and 19). 1.Observation on 6/14/23 at 9:00 a.m. of resident 5's room revealed she had a one-half side rail on the left side of her bed. Interview on 6/14/23 at 9:30 a.m. with maintenance director E revealed: *He stated the assessments had been completed in the four months since he began working at this facility. *He provided documentation of a side rail audit with one bed rail audit conducted on 5/30/23 for room [ROOM NUMBER] which was not resident 5's room. *He admitted that he had not done as many assessments as he thought. Interview on 6/14/23 at 3:34 p.m. with director of nursing A and Minimum Data Set coordinator F regarding resident 5's side rails revealed: *There were no assessments completed for residents who use side rails. *Resident 5 had no assessment for side rails. *Their expectation would have been that the assessments had been completed.…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$11,057 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $11,057 — penalty dated 2024-09-12

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to LEGACY HEALTHCARE — 89 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 4 of 52.9+1.1 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.8+1.2 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 52.5-0.5 vs chain
Quality measures 2 of 53.3-1.3 vs chain
The other 88 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.9★, per CMS)
1 of 5Avantara ArrowheadRapid City, SD 1 of 5Avantara Evergreen ParkEvergreen Park, IL 1 of 5Avantara MilbankMilbank, SD 1 of 5Avantara Saint CloudRapid City, SD 1 of 5Avantara WatertownWatertown, SD 1 of 5Emmetsburg Care CenterEmmetsburg, IA 1 of 5Grove Of Elmhurst, TheElmhurst, IL 1 of 5Harmony Cedar RapidsCedar Rapids, IA 1 of 5Harmony House Health Care CenterWaterloo, IA 1 of 5Harmony MarshalltownMarshalltown, IA 1 of 5Harmony WaterlooWaterloo, IA 1 of 5Harmony West Des MoinesWest Des Moines, IA 1 of 5Nexus at BerwynBerwyn, IL 1 of 5Northgate Care CenterWaukon, IA 1 of 5Park View Rehabilitation CenterSac City, IA 1 of 5Southfield Wellness CommunityWebster City, IA 1 of 5Warren Barr South LoopChicago, IL 2 of 5Avantara GrotonGroton, SD 2 of 5Avantara HuronHuron, SD 2 of 5Avantara Lincoln ParkChicago, IL 2 of 5Avantara Mountain ViewRapid City, SD 2 of 5Avantara Palos HeightsPalos Heights, IL 2 of 5Avantara PierrePierre, SD 2 of 5Avantara RedfieldRedfield, SD 2 of 5Bella Terra BloomingdaleBloomingdale, IL 2 of 5Bella Terra Morton GroveMorton Grove, IL 2 of 5Carlton At The Lake, TheChicago, IL 2 of 5Chalet Living & RehabChicago, IL 2 of 5Colonial Manor of ElmaElma, IA 2 of 5Hallmark Care CenterMount Vernon, IA 2 of 5Harmony DavenportDavenport, IA 2 of 5Harmony DubuqueDubuque, IA 2 of 5Harmony PalosPalos Heights, IL 2 of 5Harmony Utica RidgeDavenport, IA 2 of 5Heritage Care And Rehabilitation CenterMason City, IA 2 of 5Manor House Care CenterSigourney, IA 2 of 5Peterson Park Health Care CtrChicago, IL 3 of 5Avantara LibertyvilleLibertyville, IL 3 of 5Avantara NorthRapid City, SD 3 of 5Bloomfield Care CenterBloomfield, IA

Showing 40 of 88; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
DOROS GENERATION TRUST U/A/D 1/3/12Organization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF43%since 07/01/2019
GPN FAMILY TRUST U/A/D 4/28/08Organization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNF43%since 07/01/2019
OAKWAY OPERATIONS LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST15%since 07/01/2015
BOKF,NAOrganization5% OR GREATER SECURITY INTEREST; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 03/04/2024
RAJCHENBACH, CHAIMIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2019
SHABAT, MENACHEMIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2019
DICKES, EDWARDIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2025
MOREHOUSE, RACHELIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/06/2020
CLARK CITY SD PROPERTY HOLDINGS, LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2019
LEGACY HEALTHCARE FINANCIAL SERVICES LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 07/01/2019
ROTH & CO, LLPOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024

CMS files one row per role, so the 20 rows in the source record cover these 11 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

7 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+10.0%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$269K
Related-party expense8% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 57%Medicare 20%Other / private 23%

This home reported $269K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$289per resident / day
operating cost
$8,774per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$321per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in SD

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the South Dakota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in South Dakota
$9,444/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,190/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,900/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 435058. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2026-01-08, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next