No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Edgebrook Care Center

505 Trosky Road West, Edgerton, MN 56128 · Non profit - Corporation · 54 certified beds · (507) 442-7121 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (507) 442-7121 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
1 immediate-jeopardy citation CMS recorded as corrected before the inspection ended (past non-compliance)
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • inspectors recorded 1 serious finding as past non-compliance — the problem was found, fixed, and verified before the survey closed, so it is history rather than a current condition, but it is still worth asking what changed
  • a high number of inspection citations overall (15) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

1/5
CMS overall
1 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 2 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 1 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 3 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
105 W Main St · (507) 825-5401 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
735 Main St · (507) 631-0080 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
801 Main St S · (507) 215-6599 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 3 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 3 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 3 to 1 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating1★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased29.0%18.2%15.4%worse
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight6.1%4.1%5.4%worse
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.5%1.9%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.6%2.6%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms3.2%4.1%6.5%better
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.8%4.0%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened21.4%20.5%16.1%worse
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication8.6%12.5%18.9%better
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine98.0%96.1%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.0%5.2%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control27.1%24.5%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table25.0%17.1%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%1.9%1.4%better
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.071.611.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days2.261.901.80worse

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

46.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 28 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

46.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
9.9%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.04U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.03hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
<0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.04 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 1% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 0% of this home’s weekday level — it runs therapy on weekdays, with essentially none at the weekend. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF46.5%CMS range 32.5–59.251.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF9.9%CMS range 5.9–15.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs1.051.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.52
RN hours/ resident / day
0.23
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.70
Aide hours/ resident / day
2.45
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.34
RN hoursweekends
Total nursing turnover
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 54 beds and averages 49.9 residents a day — about 92% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 2.45 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.52 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.70 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.46 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 2.45 on weekdays — about the same on weekends as weekdays. RN hours go from 0.59 to 0.34 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

6
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-11-19)
4
at the previous standard inspection (2024-10-15)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

15 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Immediate jeopardy · J2025-08-22 · tag F0803 — failed to meet residents' dietary needs — isolated
    Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to follow physician orders to provide R1 with a minced and moist diet. This resulted in an immediate jeopardy (IJ) for R1 when she was given her dinner which was not minced and moist. As a result, R1 choked and required the Heimlich maneuver and oxygen.The IJ began on 8/15/25 at 5:50 p.m., when R1 was given cheese cubes. The administrator and director of nursing (DON) were informed of the IJ on 8/22/25 at 10:07 a.m. The facility had implemented corrective action on 8/19/25, prior to the start of the survey, and was therefore past noncompliance.Findings include: R1's Face Sheet undated, identified R1 had active diagnoses including dysphagia (difficulty swallowing) and Parkinson's disease with dyskinesia (abnormal body movements). R1's care plan revised 7/17/25, identified R1 had a minced and moist texture diet with moderate (honey) consistency fluids. R1's significant change Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE], identified R1 was cognitively intact, had…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-11-19 · tag F0851 — widespread
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on document review and interview, the facility failed to submit complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data, during 1 of 1 quarter reviewed (Quarter 3) 2025, (April 1 - June 30) to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) according to specifications established by CMS.Findings include: Review of the Payroll Based Journal Report (PBJ) [NAME] Report 1705D identified excessively low weekend staffing had triggered. Review of the nursing schedule from April 1st through June 30th of 2025, identified most weekends had scheduled 7 nursing assistance (NA) and 1 licensed nurse for both the morning shift and the afternoon shift. There were 6 weekends identified that fell below the 7 NA's however, there was an additional licensed nurse scheduled. Interview on 11/18/25 at 2:00 p.m., with the administrator identified on the weekends that had lower nursing assistance scheduled due to call ins or no available staff, the facility had scheduled a licensed practical nurse (LPN) to work the floor as a NA. She…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-11-19 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — widespread
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to implement and maintain an infection control program that included thorough data collection, analysis of facility infections, and tracking and trending to reduce the spread of infections within the facility. The facility failed to include in their surveillance viral-like illnesses not treated with an antibiotic for staff or residents. In addition the facility failed to ensure staff utilized Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), during 1 of 3 (R37) insulin administration observations. Findings include: Review of the monthly infection surveillance and staff call-in logs from August through October 2025 identified in: 1.August 2025, the surveillance identified 6 UTI's, 2 skin infections, and 1 fungal infection. The log did not identify medications prescribed or that an antibiotic time out had been completed. No residents on enhanced barrier precautions were included in the surveillance. The staff illness log identified 5 staff had called in with nausea and vomiting. 1 staff with diarrhea and fever, and 2 staff with upper…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2025-11-19 · tag F0882 — widespread
    Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure appropriate oversight by the infection preventionist (IP) to ensure thorough implementation of the infection control program. Findings include: Review of the monthly infection surveillance and staff call-in logs from August through October 2025 identified in: 1.August 2025, the surveillance included no map that identified location of the infections. The log identified 6 UTI's, 2 skin infections, and 1 fungal infection. The log did not identify medications prescribed or that an antibiotic time out had been completed. No residents on enhanced barrier precautions were included in the surveillance. Resident infection log identified each resident was on standard precautions. No other precaution type was identified. The staff illness log identified 5 staff had called in with nausea and vomiting, 1 with diarrhea and fever, and 2 with upper respiratory symptoms and fever. The log did not indicate when the symptoms had resolved, the last day the staff worked, or when they returned to work.2.September 2025, the resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-11-19 · tag F0641 — isolated
    Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to accurately assess 1 of 1 resident (R6) for a wrist brace/splint present upon admission. Findings include: R6's 10/28/25 5-day admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment identified her cognition was intact, she required the assistance of 1 staff for activities of daily living, (ADLS) and transfers, and had an indwelling Foley catheter in place. She had diagnosis of diabetes type II, high blood pressure, cellulitis, (a bacterial infection of the skin's deeper layers, causing symptoms like redness, swelling, pain and warmth) of her left lower leg, lymphedema (swelling in limbs caused by malfunctioning of lymphatic system), morbid obesity, weakness, urinary retention, disorders of bone density, and heart failure. The MDS failed to include the use of a glove and wrist splint worn daily on her right wrist since admission. Observation of R6 during the period of 10/27/25 through 10/29/25, noted she wore a protective glove under a wrist splint…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-11-19 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolated
    Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed ensure staff clarified a treatment order and accurately documented the administration of an order for 1 of 1 resident (R3) with physician orders for the application of lymphatic boots (devices using air compression to move lymph fluid out of the affected limbs and back into the circulatory system). Findings include: R3's accepted Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment on 11/11/25, identified R3's cognition was moderately impaired. R3 required substantial assistance with cares and total assistance with toileting. R3 was noted during assessment period to have physical behaviors towards others 1-3-days, verbal behaviors towards others 1-3 days, and other behaviors (not directed at others) for 1-3 days. R3 was noted to wander within the facility 1-3 days and had a wander guard placed. R3 hallucinated and had delusions. R3 had diagnoses of Alzheimer's disease and depression. R3 took an antianxiety, antidepressant, and scheduled pain medication. R3's 9/15/25, provider dictated note identified R3 had been seen by another…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-11-19 · tag F0881 — failed to use antibiotics responsibly — isolated
    Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to develop an antibiotic stewardship program which included development of protocols and a system to monitor antibiotic use, to ensure appropriate antibiotics were utilized to prevent antibiotic resistance for 2 of 3 resident (R35 and R42) who had an order for an antibiotic with no indication that an antibiotic time out had been completed.Findings include: R35's 8/31/25 quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, identified his cognition was moderately impaired, he had diagnosis of heart failure, diabetes mellitus, and dementia. R35 was independent with activities of daily living (ADL)'s. R35's August 2025, medication administration record (MAR) identified he was administered cephalexin 500 milligrams three times a day from 8/11/25 to 8/19/25. Review of the facilities monthly infection log identified R35 had been prescribed an antibiotic for a urinary tract infection (UTI) on 8/11/25. The log lacked any indication that an antibiotic time out had been completed. R42's 10/8/25 quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-10-15 · tag F0725 — failed to have enough nursing staff — pattern
    Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to ensure the required amount of staff determined by their resident census and care levels, resident assessments and individual plans of care, and considering the number, acuity and diagnoses of the facility's resident population in accordance with the facility assessment. Findings include: Review of the Payroll Based Journal Report (PBJ) [NAME] Report 1705D identified the following dates triggered for review: 4/1/24 through 6/30, 24 days Triggered = Submitted Weekend Staffing Data Excessively Low. Review of the facility's staffing requirements for weekends during the identified PBJ period of 4/1/24 through 6/30/24 identified staffing numbers required were: Days: 1 nurse: 6:30 a.m. -7:00 p.m. 1 nurse: 6:30 a.m. -3:00 p.m. 1 trained medication aide (TMA)/or Restorative aide (RA) 6:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. 1 RA: 6:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. 4 nursing assistants (NA): 6:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. and 1 NA/bath aide. 6:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Evenings: 2 NAs: 2:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. 2 NA's: 2:30 p.m. -9:30 p.m. 1 NA: 5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m. 2 TMA's:…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nursing and Physician Services Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2024-10-15 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — pattern
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and document review, the facility failed to ensure a system for periodic reconciliation of controlled substances for the emergency kit stored in a refrigerator. Findings include: On interview and observation 10/13/24 at 3:27 p.m., a tour of the medication room with registered nurse (RN)-A included an unlocked refrigerator with a plastic container that had a breakaway tag on with number 6229540. Inside of the plastic kit was 1 vial of morphine liquid 100 mg/5 ml, Tramadol 50 mg tablets, and 2 vials of lorazepam 2 mg/ml. RN-A indicated they switched pharmacies a few months ago and she stated they have not been counting the narcotics, nor verifying the security of the lock, for medications kept in the refrigerator but probably should be. On interview 10/13/24 at 7:00 p.m., trained medication aide (TMA)-A indicated she does participate in narcotics counts at the end of the shift, but has never counted the narcotics in the medication room refrigerator, or verified the lock was intact. There was no mention of doing either in the medication reconciliation…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-10-15 · tag F0625 — isolated
    Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to notify the resident and/or their representative, in writing, of the care facility's bed hold policy, including any potential costs included with the bed hold, at the time of transfer to the hospital for 1 of 5 residents (R10) reviewed for hospitalizations. Findings include: R10's 9/17/24, quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) identified R10 had unclear speech, was usually understood, had severe cognitive impairment, displayed continuous disorganized thinking, altered level of consciousness, and had verbal behaviors daily. R10 used a wheelchair for mobility and required total assistance with cares. R10 was identified to have Alzheimer's disease. She had no indications of pain; she had no falls and did not take any psychoactive medication. R10's 6/28/24, progress note identified R10 was positive for COVID-19 and was on droplet precautions. On 6/29/24, at around 7:00 p.m., R10 was assessed and found to have unstable vital signs with shortness of breath and was transported to the emergency room for evaluation. The family was…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-10-15 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview and document review the facility failed to ensure the infection control program used enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) per Centers for Disease Control (CDC) recommendations for 2 of 2 residents (R47 and R19) who had indwelling device present or multi-drug-resistant organism (MDRO). Findings include: R46's diagnosis list printed 10/14/24 included gastrostomy (a feeding tube inserted into the stomach through the abdomen) status. R46's plan of care, dated 9/13/24, included the resident requires tube feeding related to dysphagia (difficulty swallowing). Interventions included no water pitcher at bedside due to nothing per mouth status and elevate head of bed 30-45 degrees during and 30 minutes after the tube feeding is stopped. R46's plan of care did not include EBP precautions. On observation and interview on 10/13/24 at 5:03 p.m., registered nurse (RN)-A gathered supplies for tube feeding, put on a gown she brought with her to R46's room. RN-A stated that when providing cares such as tube feedings or medication administration with the gastrostomy tube…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-01-24 · tag F0851 — widespread
    Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to submit accurate and/or complete data for staffing information at least quarterly or more often, including information for agency and contract staff, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data during 1 of 1 quarter reviewed (Quarter 4) to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), according to specifications established by CMS. Findings include: Review of the Payroll Based Journal Report (PBJ) [NAME] Report 1705D identified the following dates triggered for review: 7/16/23, 7/23/23, 7/29/23, 7/30/23, 8/13/23, 8/26/23, 8/27/23, 9/09/23, 9/10/23, 9/16/23, 9/17/23, and 9/30/23 for failure to have licensed nurse coverage 24 hours per day. Review of staffing schedules identified the facility had 7 staff identified to have worked, registered nurses (RN)-D, RN-E, RN-F, RN-G, RN-H, RN-I and licensed practical nurse (LPN)-A. Review of staff's time cards on the above-mentioned dates identified licensed nursing staff had worked and the data submitted in the PBJ to CMS was inaccurate. Interview on 1/24/24 at…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Administration Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-24 · tag F0640 — isolated
    Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review the facility failed to ensure timely submission of a Death in facility Minimum Data Set (MDS) for 1 of 1 resident (R9) who was reviewed for an MDS record over 120 days old. Findings include: R9's medical record identified last scheduled Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment that had been completed and submitted was on 9/17/23. R9's death in facility MDS was signed by the responsible party on 10/2/23, and locked on 10/11/23. The death in facility MDS had not been successfully submitted and/or transmitted; as R9's electronic health record identified it had been completed rather than accepted under the status section, indicating it had not been submitted. Observation and Interview on 1/23/24 at 9:02 a.m., with registered nurse (RN)-A who revealed she was responsible for R9's MDS completion and submission. Her process was to submit completed MDS's each week. The electronic medical record program, Point Click Care (PCC) would create a batch of MDS's that were eligible for submission. Following submission of a batch of MDS's there would be a validation…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-01-24 · tag F0644 — isolated
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on interview and document review, the facility failed to notify the designated State Mental Health Authority (SMHA) when 1 of 2 residents (R14) had changes in mental health and/or had new-onset mental illness diagnoses. Findings include: R14's 1/23/24, face sheet identified she was admitted to the facility in June of 2022, with diagnosis of depression. R14's diagnosis list identified that upon admission, she had no diagnosis of mental illness or related condition. On 1/23/23, R14 had a new diagnosis added of psychotic disorder with delusions due to known physiological condition, and new onset anxiety disorder due to a known physiological condition. R14's medical record lacked any indication that the SMHA had been notified of the new diagnoses. R14's 5/16/23, annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment identified R14 experienced delusions and verbal behaviors directed towards others and herself that put R14 at significant risk for injury. R14's 6/27/22, pre-admission screening (PAS) results identified she was being admitted with a primary diagnosis of cognitive impairment with no…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-01-24 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolated
    Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview the facility failed to follow their policy and ensure discontinued medications were immediately removed from 1 of 1 resident's (R8) medication and not co-mingled with thier current medication supply located in the [NAME] medication cart, and secure them in a locked compartment in the medication room for final destruction. Findings include: R8's 11/29/23, Significant Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment identified R8's cognition was intact, she required maximal assistance with daily cares, was identified as having pain and took pain medication. She had frequent pain that was severe and took an anti-anxiety, anti-depression, and opioid (narcotic used for pain) medication. R8 had identified diagnosis of anxiety and depression. Observation and interview on 1/24/24 at 10:37 a.m., with registered nurse (RN)-B of the [NAME] medication cart. The locked narcotic box located within the west medication cart contained 2 punch cards for R8 that had a yellow sticker on the punch card that identified it had been discontinued. The first punch card label identified…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to GOOD SAMARITAN SOCIETY — 92 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 1 of 53.0-2.0 vs chain
Health inspection 2 of 52.8-0.8 vs chain
Staffing 1 of 54.0-3.0 vs chain
Quality measures 3 of 52.8+0.2 vs chain
The other 91 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.0★, per CMS)
1 of 5Good Samaritan - IndianolaIndianola, IA 1 of 5Good Samaritan - Red OakRed Oak, IA 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society - AtkinsonAtkinson, NE 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society - BlackduckBlackduck, MN 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society - Grand Island VillageGrand Island, NE 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society - LakotaLakota, ND 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society - Mary Jane BrownLuverne, MN 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society - St Luke's VillageKearney, NE 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society - WindomWindom, MN 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society De SmetDe Smet, SD 1 of 5Good Samaritan Society MillerMiller, SD 1 of 5Salem Lutheran HomeElk Horn, IA 1 of 5Souris Valley Care CenterVelva, ND 1 of 5St Vincent's - A Prospera CommunityBismarck, ND 1 of 5Sunset Drive - a Prospera CommunityMandan, ND 2 of 5Good Samaritan - AtwoodAtwood, KS 2 of 5Good Samaritan - Decatur CountyOberlin, KS 2 of 5Good Samaritan - EsthervilleEstherville, IA 2 of 5Good Samaritan - MansonManson, IA 2 of 5Good Samaritan - OttumwaOttumwa, IA 2 of 5Good Samaritan - WaukonWaukon, IA 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - BottineauBottineau, ND 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - Hastings VillageHastings, NE 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - OakesOakes, ND 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - Park RiverPark River, ND 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - Specialty Care CommunityRobbinsdale, MN 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - St John'sKearney, NE 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - St Martin VillageRapid City, SD 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - SuperiorSuperior, NE 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society - Waconia And Westview AcreWaconia, MN 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society CantonCanton, SD 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society Luther ManorSioux Falls, SD 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society New UnderwoodNew Underwood, SD 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society Sioux Falls CenterSioux Falls, SD 2 of 5Good Samaritan Society Sioux Falls VillageSioux Falls, SD 2 of 5Good Samaritan-LiberalLiberal, KS 2 of 5The Good Samaritan Society-Kissimmee VillageKissimmee, FL 3 of 5Good Samaritan - AlgonaAlgona, IA 3 of 5Good Samaritan - DavenportDavenport, IA 3 of 5Good Samaritan - HolsteinHolstein, IA

Showing 40 of 91; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleSince
REDINGER, MICHAELIndividualCONTRACTED MANAGING EMPLOYEEsince 04/03/2015
BOBELDYK, ORAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2017
BRUMMEL, ALLENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2015
DYK, GORDONIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2016
GUNNINK, SHELAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2016
HANENBURG, DONNAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2017
LANDHUIS, RANDYIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2016
ROZEBOM, EILEENIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2018
SANDBULTE, WILLIAMIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2018
SCHMIDT, LOISIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 07/01/2018
THE EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN GOOD SAMARITAN SOCIETYOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 04/01/1991

The source lists no ownership percentage for any party here — PECOS records a share only for equity interests, not for board or management roles.

1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$6.5M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-2.7%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 29%Medicare 4%Other / private 67%

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$286per resident / day
operating cost
$8,699per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$279per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in MN

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Minnesota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Minnesota
$10,646/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$13,870/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,573/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 245560. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-11-19, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next