No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Eldora Specialty Care

1510 22nd Street, Eldora, IA 50627 · Non profit - Corporation · 46 certified beds · (641) 939-3491 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Flagged for abuse1 actual-harm citation
Insights

This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.

In its favor
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
  • a high payroll-based staffing rating (4/5)
Worth asking about
  • CMS has flagged it for abuse
  • it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited Jun 2026
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • its payroll- and facility-reported staffing and quality-measure scores sit well above its independent inspection score
  • its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 2 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 4 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Worth a closer look. This home's staffing and quality-measure ratings run 3 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself, and staffing on its payroll (PBJ) submissions — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
230 S 6th St · (515) 382-5471 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
1602 Edgington Ave · (641) 858-3567 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
1616 Edgington Ave · (641) 858-2361 · Call to confirm hours
Park
2006 12th Ave · (641) 858-3477 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
1115 Washington St · (641) 858-2464

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased12.2%17.1%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.1%4.6%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%1.5%0.9%better
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%2.4%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms7.0%4.2%6.5%typical
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.2%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury2.1%3.8%3.3%better
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened14.9%16.6%16.1%typical
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication34.7%20.8%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%95.3%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers2.3%4.2%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control27.4%25.6%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table40.0%19.5%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication0.0%2.1%1.4%better
Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%73.3%79.4%better

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

52.5% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 28 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.

52.5%U.S. median 51.5%
Got home and stayed home
10.3%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.17U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.07hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.09hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.01hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.17 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 17% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 16% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF52.5%CMS range 41.1–65.051.5%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.3%CMS range 6.4–15.610.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.661.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.64
RN hours/ resident / day
0.78
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.14
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.56
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.34
RN hoursweekends
38.5%
Total nursing turnover
20.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 46 beds and averages 36.7 residents a day — about 80% occupied, or roughly 9 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.56 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.64 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.14 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.34 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.65 on weekdays — 8% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.76 to 0.34 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 38% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

3
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-12-11)
1
at the previous standard inspection (2024-12-12)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Actual harm · G2026-06-15 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolated
    Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, facility investigation review, staff interviews and policy review, the facility failed to protect residents from verbal and physical abuse by a staff member for 3 of 3 residents reviewed for abuse (Residents #1, #5, #6). The facility reported a census of 36 residents. Findings include: Resident #1's Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] identified a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 3, indicating severely impaired cognition. The MDS identified Resident #1 required substantial or maximal assistance with showering and bathing and depended on staff for tub or shower transfers. The MDS included diagnoses of hypertension (high blood pressure), non-Alzheimer's dementia (mental decline), unspecified dementia with other behavioral disturbance (confusion with behaviors), and senile degeneration of the brain (brain tissue wasting). The MDS documented Resident #1 received hospice care (end-of-life care) during the stay. Resident #1's Care Plan with a target date of…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-06-15 · tag F0580 — failed to tell family and doctor about changes — isolated
    Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, staff interviews and policy review, the facility failed to notify the Physician and family of an allegation of abuse for 2 of 2 resident reviewed (Resident #1 and #5). The facility reported a census of 36 residents.Findings include:1. Resident #1's Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] identified a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 3, indicating severely cognitively impaired. The MDS identified Resident #1 required substantial or maximal assistance with showering and bathing and depended on staff for tub or shower transfers. The MDS included diagnoses of hypertension (high blood pressure), non-Alzheimer's dementia (mental decline), unspecified dementia with other behavioral disturbance (confusion with behaviors), and senile degeneration of the brain (brain tissue wasting). The MDS documented Resident #1 received hospice care (end-of-life care) during the stay. A handwritten Internal Investigation Witness Statement completed by Certified Nursing Assistant…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2026-06-15 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on staff interviews, facility investigation review, clinical record review and policy review the facility failed to notify DIAL (Department of inspection, appeals and licensing) and Law Enforcement of an alleged verbal and physical abuse for Resident #1 that occurred on 6/4/26 at approximately 1:30 PM in a timely manner. The CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) reported she told the DON (Director of Nursing) and Administrator of the allegations of abuse at 3 PM on 6/4/26. The facility reported the incident to DIAL on 6/8/26 at 4:25 PM after DIAL entered the building and reported an allegation of abuse. In addition, the facility failed to report an allegation of physical abuse for Resident #5 that occurred on 5/18/26 at approximately 10:30 AM. The facility reported a census of 36 residents. Findings include:1. A handwritten Internal Investigation Witness Statement completed by Staff B, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), dated 6/4/26 at 1:30 PM, documented Staff B and Staff C, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), assisted Staff A, Certified Nursing Assistant/Certified Medication Aide…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-12-11 · tag F0644 — isolated
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to submit a Level II Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) evaluation for 1 of 1 resident reviewed with a new mental health diagnosis (Resident #1). The facility reported a census of 35 residents.Findings include:The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented Resident #1 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 3, indicating severe cognitive impairment. The MDS included diagnoses of medically complex conditions, non-Alzheimer's dementia, depression, bipolar disorder and major depressive disorder. The indicated Resident #1 took an antipsychotic, antidepressant and antianxiety medication during the lookback period. The Care Plan Focus revised 6/2/25 indicated Resident #1 had behavior problems related to diagnoses of unspecified dementia, unspecified severity without behavioral disturbance, psychotic disturbance, mood disturbance and anxiety directed staff. The Interventions directed to administer…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-11 · tag F0791 — failed to provide routine dental services — isolated
    Provide or obtain dental services for each resident.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review, resident interview, staff interview and policy review, the facility failed to assist 1 of 1 resident (Resident #10) in obtaining routine dental care. The facility reported a census of 35 residents. Findings include:The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] documented Resident #10 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 15, indicating intact cognition. The MDS included diagnoses of medically complex conditions, heart failure, anxiety disorder, depression and bipolar disorder. The MDS didn't indicate Resident #10 had dentures. The Care Plan Focus initiated 5/2/24 related to Activities of Daily Living (ADL's) included the following InterventionsResident #10 ate independently with set upResident #10 needed partial assistance of 1 for oral hygiene. During an interview on 12/8/25 at 1:30 PM, Resident #10 stated she didn't have any upper or lower teeth, advising all of her teeth were removed several years ago. Resident #10 stated she didn't have dentures and voiced a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-12-11 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, staff interviews and policy review, the facility failed to implement enhanced barrier precautions (EBP) while administering medication via a peg (feeding) tube for 1 of 2 residents reviewed for EBP (Resident #3). The facility reported a census of 35 residents. Findings include The Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed Resident #3 had a diagnosis of malignant neoplasm (cancer) of head, face and neck. The MDS reflected Resident #3 had a feeding tube and depended on staff to eat. The Care Plan revised 11/17/25 indicated Resident #3 had a peg tube. The Intervention directed staff to give medications via the peg tube. Review of Physician Orders for Resident #3 revealed an order for EBP due to a peg tube and a tracheostomy stoma (a surgical opening used for breathing instead of through the mouth or nose) effective 11/14/25. Review of the December 2025 Medication Administration Record (MAR) for Resident #3 revealed an order for Oxycodone (narcotic pain medication) 5 milligrams (mg) every 6…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-12-12 · tag F0644 — isolated
    Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on clinical record review and staff interview, the facility failed to submit a Level II Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) evaluation for 1 of 1 residents reviewed with a new mental health diagnosis (Resident #24). The facility reported a census of 35 residents. Findings include: Resident #24's Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] identified a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 13, indicating intact cognition. The MDS included a diagnosis of bipolar disorder. Resident #24 received antipsychotic medications during the lookback period. The Care Plan Focus revised 9/5/24 reflected Resident #24 had a behavior problem, refused to be checked and changed when wet, he would seek out women, he would pace up and down the halls. The Care Plan Goal indicated Resident #24 wouldn't have a negative outcome from the behaviors. Resident #24's Medical Diagnosis reviewed on 12/11/24 included a diagnosis of bipolar disorder effective 10/2/23. Resident #24's clinical record review…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Assessment and Care Planning Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to CARE INITIATIVES — 43 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.9+0.1 vs chain
Health inspection 2 of 52.5-0.5 vs chain
Staffing 4 of 53.7+0.3 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 53.7+1.3 vs chain
The other 42 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.9★, per CMS)
1 of 5Avoca Specialty CareAvoca, IA 1 of 5Correctionville Specialty CareCorrectionville, IA 1 of 5Crestview Specialty CareWest Branch, IA 1 of 5Heritage Specialty CareCedar Rapids, IA 1 of 5Kingsley Specialty CareKingsley, IA 1 of 5Parkridge Specialty CarePleasant Hill, IA 1 of 5Ravenwood Specialty CareWaterloo, IA 1 of 5Westwood Specialty CareSioux City, IA 2 of 5Chariton Specialty CareChariton, IA 2 of 5Creston Specialty CareCreston, IA 2 of 5Dubuque Specialty CareDubuque, IA 2 of 5Lantern Park Specialty CareCoralville, IA 2 of 5New London Specialty CareNew London, IA 2 of 5Northcrest Specialty CareWaterloo, IA 2 of 5Northern Mahaska Specialty CareOskaloosa, IA 2 of 5Pinnacle Specialty CareCedar Falls, IA 2 of 5Southridge Specialty CareMarshalltown, IA 2 of 5Stratford Specialty CareStratford, IA 3 of 5Atlantic Specialty CareAtlantic, IA 3 of 5Centerville Specialty CareCenterville, IA 3 of 5Cherokee Specialty CareCherokee, IA 3 of 5Manly Specialty CareManly, IA 3 of 5Montezuma Specialty CareMontezuma, IA 3 of 5Odebolt Specialty CareOdebolt, IA 3 of 5Panora Specialty CarePanora, IA 3 of 5Ridgewood Specialty CareOttumwa, IA 3 of 5Southern Hills Specialty CareOsceola, IA 3 of 5West Ridge Specialty CareKnoxville, IA 4 of 5Bedford Specialty CareBedford, IA 4 of 5Belle Plaine Specialty CareBelle Plaine, IA 4 of 5Corning Specialty CareCorning, IA 4 of 5Corydon Specialty CareCorydon, IA 4 of 5Dunlap Specialty CareDunlap, IA 4 of 5Laporte City Specialty CareLa Porte City, IA 4 of 5Lyon Specialty CareRock Rapids, IA 4 of 5Oakwood Specialty CareAlbia, IA 5 of 5Fonda Specialty CareFonda, IA 5 of 5Lamoni Specialty CareLamoni, IA 5 of 5Mechanicsville Specialty CareMechanicsville, IA 5 of 5Sibley Specialty CareSibley, IA

Showing 40 of 42; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
CARE INITIATIVESOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 11/12/2010
COMPUTERSHARE CORPORATE TRUST COMPANY, NAOrganization5% OR GREATER MORTGAGE INTEREST; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/01/2025
BEAL, MICHAELIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTOR; CORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/01/2020
BOWEN, LANEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2021
CAROTHERS, MARY JANEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2023
CHILDS, KEVINIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 04/01/2023
CORLESS, PETERIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2025
KREIN, KEITHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 06/29/2022
RUST, ELIZABETHIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2023
STURM, DENISEIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2021
UPMEYER, LINDAIndividualCORPORATE DIRECTORsince 01/01/2022
DIXON, DAVIDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/01/2016
DRAKE, EMILYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/04/2023
GILYARD, TANYAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 05/23/2025
KUHN, JERAMYIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 06/25/2008
MCDYER, JESSICAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 02/22/2023
VOLM, JOHANNAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/01/2021
MAHLER, CARLAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROLsince 01/01/2024
OBEN, PATRICKIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/01/2024
SNYDER, JAMIEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 02/01/2025

CMS files one row per role, so the 24 rows in the source record cover these 20 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$3.7M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
+8.5%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$317K
Related-party expense9% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 63%Medicare 3%Other / private 33%

This home reported $317K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$240per resident / day
operating cost
$7,301per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$262per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in IA

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Iowa Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Iowa
$9,277/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,038/mo
Nursing home (private)
$5,381/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 165316. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-12-11, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next