Waters Of McKenzie A Rehabilitation & Nursing Ctr
14510 Us-Highway 79, Mc Kenzie, TN 38201 · For profit - Individual · 66 certified beds · (731) 352-5317 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.
- a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
- no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
- nursing-staff turnover (66%) runs well above the national median (45%)
- about 18% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 3 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 3 of 5 |
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 3 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 1 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating fell from 3 to 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 2.3% | 14.0% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.5% | 6.1% | 5.4% | worse |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.6% | 0.7% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.8% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 71.5% | 13.8% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 4.9% | 3.4% | 3.3% | worse |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 2.4% | 17.2% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 37.6% | 31.7% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 100.0% | 94.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 2.3% | 5.0% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 18.5% | 20.0% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 8.6% | 16.8% | 17.1% | better |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 2.2% | 1.7% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 95.8% | 79.8% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 25.0% | 22.6% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 18.7% | 11.2% | 12.0% | worse |
| Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days | 2.14 | 1.67 | 1.67 | worse |
| Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days | 1.95 | 1.56 | 1.80 | typical |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
39.7% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 49 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 50.0% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 20 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.39 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 67% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 11% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 39.7%CMS range 28.7–56.2 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 12.4%CMS range 7.9–16.8 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 50.0% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 60.0% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 50.0% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 7.5%CMS range 3.7–13.2 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 1.53 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 66 beds and averages 43.1 residents a day — about 65% occupied, or roughly 23 beds typically open. It often has substantial empty capacity — worth asking why, since low census can reflect either a new or shrinking home or one families are avoiding. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.41 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.30 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.81 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.13 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.53 on weekdays — 11% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.34 to 0.20 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 66% is well above the national median of 45%.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
13 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.
- Potential for harm · E2025-04-17 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — patternProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on facility document review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure food was stored, prepared, and served under sanitary conditions when 1 of 1 ice machine was observed to have a dark slimy buildup on the inner seal. The census was 46 with 44 residents receiving a tray from the kitchen. The findings: 1. Review of the undated, facility document titled, Physical Plant-Monthly Inspections, revealed .Ice Machines: Clean filters and check water filter and observe for proper operation. Look for any calcium, lime, or algae. Check to ensure it is in a clean and sanitized state. This includes all ice machines throughout the facility including Dietary . 2. Observation and interview on 4/14/2025 at 8:44 AM, with the Dietary Manager (DM) revealed the ice machine had a black, slimy substance all around the inside seal. The DM was asked who was responsible for cleaning the ice machine. The DM stated, Maintenance. The DM was asked if it was clean. The DM stated, No. Observation and interview on 4/15/2025 at 8:38 AM, with the DM revealed the ice machine had a black, slimy…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-17 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — isolatedHonor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy, medical record review, observation and interview the facility failed to ensure dignity and resident choice was met for 1 (Resident #33) of 1 sampled resident reviewed for activities of daily living. The findings include: 1. Review of the undated facility policy titled, CALL LIGHTS, revealed, .It is the policy of the facility to have a system in placed to allow the staff to respond promptly to a resident's call for assistance .Never make the resident feel as though you are too busy to give assistance. If you yourself cannot provide the requested assistance, assure the resident that you will take their request to the appropriate staff. Follow through with this commitment and follow up to see if the resident had the need met. NEVER TURN OFF A CALL LIGH THEN FAIL TO SEE THAT THE RESIDENT'S REQUEST WAS ADDRESSED Review of the undated facility policy titled, Resident Rights, revealed, .The resident has a right to a dignified existence, self-determination, and communication with and access to…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-17 · tag F0554 — isolatedAllow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to assess 1 of 1 resident (Resident #197) reviewed for self-administration of medication. The findings include: 1. Review of the undated facility policy titled, Medication Self Administration, revealed .procedures for determining if the resident can safely self-administer .Residents .will be assess at the time of admission .to determine if the practice is safe, based on the results of the Resident Assessment-Self-administration Tool .assessment results will be discussed with the attending physician and an order obtained to self-administer if appropriate . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #197 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Respiratory Failure, and Liver Disease. Basic Interview for Mental Status had not been assessed due to recent admit and in process. Review of the Physician Order Sheet dated April 2025, revealed .Levalbuterol…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-17 · tag F0656 — failed to write and follow a full care plan — isolatedDevelop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to implement interventions on care plan for 1 of 3 (Resident #26) sampled residents reviewed for accidents. The findings include: Review of the medical record revealed Resident #26 admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses which included Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), Dementia, Osteoarthritis, Difficulty in Walking, and History of Falling. Review of the Annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #26 had a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) score of 6 which indicated severe cognitive abilities. Review of Resident #26's Progress Note dated 8/8/2024 revealed, .Note Text: Resident witnessed on floor beside bed. Bed was in low position. She states that she rolled over and slid onto the floor. She was lying on her right hip .Arms noted under her upper body. Legs straight .Nurse and CNA had been in resident's room [ROOM NUMBER] min prior to fall. She was lying in bed, facing the wall…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-17 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — isolatedProvide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policies, record review, observations, and interviews the facility failed to provide Oxygen therapy as ordered by the Physician for 1 of 1 (Resident #13) reviewed for Respiratory Care. The findings include: 1. Review of the undated facility policy titled, Oxygen Administration Guidelines, revealed, .Review order for oxygen administration to include .flow rate . Review of the facility policy titled, Guidelines For Physician Orders, dated 6/18/2023, revealed .It is the policy of the facility to follow the orders of the physician .All physician orders received pertaining to the resident will be implemented and followed throughout the course of the resident's stay in the facility . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #13 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Acute Ischemic Heart Disease, Occlusion and Stenosis of Left Carotid Artery, Cerebral Infarction, and Hypertension. Review of the Care Plan dated 1/28/2025 revealed .Administer O2 [oxygen] as ordered per…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-17 · tag F0758 — failed to limit and justify psychotropic drugs — isolatedImplement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure PRN (as needed) psychotropic medications for 1 (Resident #26) of 5 sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications were limited to 14 days duration. The facility failed to obtain a physician's assessment or documented rationale for continued use of the medication. The findings include: 1. Review of the undated facility policy titled, GUIDELINES FOR PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATION, revealed .Based upon each individual resident's comprehensive assessment, the facility will ensure that residents who have not previously been on a psychotropic drug (s) are not given these meds unless the medication is necessary to treat a specific condition/diagnoses .PRN [as needed] Orders for Psychotropic Medications: PRN orders for psychotropic drugs will be limited to 14 days, unless the physician identifies and documents rationale to extend he medication beyond 14 days. PRN antipsychotics drugs will be limited to 14…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-17 · tag F0806 — failed to honor food preferences — isolatedEnsure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observation and interview, the facility failed to accommodate dietary preferences for 2 of 2 (Resident #33 and #42) sampled residents reviewed for dietary preferences. The findings include: 1. Review of the undated facility policy titled, RESIDENT FOOD PREFERENCES, revealed .Food preferences will be honored unless contraindicated .The facility will offer residents food choices and preferences to include .personal preferences .The Food Service Manager or designee will interview the resident and obtain their food preferences .Food preferences will be updated accordingly and will be noted in the resident's tray card .The staff may follow the list of resident's food choices and preferences . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #33 was admitted on [DATE], with diagnoses which included Muscle Wasting and Atrophy, Chronic Pain Syndrome, Need for assistance with personal care, and Anorexia. Review of the Nutritional Risk Quarterly Review dated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-04-17 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, record review, observations and interviews the facility failed to ensure staff followed hand hygiene guidelines during wound care for 1 of 1 (Resident #13) reviewed for wound care. The findings include: 1. Review of the facility policy titled, Dressing Change, Clean, dated 1/1/2024, revealed .Procedure Purpose .To prevent infection and spread of infection .Perform hand hygiene .put on .disposable gloves .Cleanse wound .Apply prescribed medication .Apply dressings .Remove gloves .Wash hands . 2. Review of the medical record revealed Resident #13 was admitted to the facility on [DATE], with diagnoses including Cerebral Infarction, Muscle Weakness, Abnormal Posture, Hemiplegia and Hemiparesis, and Low Back Pain. Review of Care Plan dated 1/28/2025, revealed .Skin .has disruption of skin surface .to labia .disruption of skin surface will remain free from infection . Review of the quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed a Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS)…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-08-03 · tag F0578 — failed to honor advance directives / code status — isolatedHonor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to provide information regarding a resident's right to formulate an Advance Directive to residents or the residents' responsible parties for 3 of 16 sampled residents (Resident #13, #17, and #35) reviewed for Advanced Directives. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Advance Directives Policy and Procedure, dated 1/1/2017, revealed .The facility provides the resident's the right to accept or refuse medical and surgical treatment, and at the resident's option, formulate an advance directive .Determine upon admission whether the resident/legal representative has an advanced directive and if not, determine whether the resident/legal representative wishes to formulate an advance directive .Upon admission, the facility will provide written information to resident/legal representative concerning the resident's rights to make decisions regarding medical care including the right to accept/refuse medical treatment…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2022-08-03 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to ensure Physician Orders were followed for notification to the Physician for 1 of 6 sampled residents (Resident #26) reviewed for unnecessary medication. The findings include: Review of the facility's undated policy titled, PHYSICIANS ORDERS-(FOLLOWING PHYSICIAN ORDERS), revealed .It is the policy of the facility to follow the orders of the physician . Review of the facility's undated policy titled, BLOOD GLUCOSE MONITORING, revealed .Blood sugars found to be below 70 or above 400 will be reported immediately to the physician and resident's representative . Review of the medical record, revealed Resident #26 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of Encephalopathy, Diabetes, Heart Failure, and Anxiety. Review of the Physician Orders dated 7/3/2022, revealed .Insulin Lispro Solution 100 UNIT/ML [milliliters] Inject as per sliding scale .If BS [Blood Sugar] 60 or > [greater than] 400 notify MD/NP [Medical Doctor/Nurse…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2019-10-10 · tag F0686 — failed to prevent and treat pressure sores (bedsores) — patternProvide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to document treatments and provide treatment orders for pressure ulcers for 2 of 3 (Resident #3 and #27) sampled residents reviewed with pressure ulcers. The findings include: 1. The facility's Wound Prevention and Management Program policy, revised 5/17 documented, .To identify Residents at risk of developing pressure ulcers and conduct appropriate interventions to maintain intact skin .Write a separate treatment order for each wound site .D. MANAGEMENT OF WOUND INFECTION: The purpose of this procedure is to prevent wound deterioration, and other complications .provide local management that optimizes healing potential . 2. Medical record review revealed Resident #3 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of Schizophrenia, Obesity, Polyneuropathy, Osteoarthritis, Dementia, Bipolar Disorder, Anxiety Disorder, Hypertension, and Heart Failure. The Comprehensive Care Plan dated 7/24/19 documented, .I am at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2019-10-10 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolatedProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure physician orders were followed for 1 of 5 (Resident #25) sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications. The findings include: Medical record review revealed Resident #25 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of Acquired Absence of Right Leg, Diabetes, Anemia, Bipolar Disorder, History of Malignant Neoplasm of Cervix, Hypertension, Long Term Use of Insulin, Anxiety Disorder, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Major Depressive Disorder, and Long Term Use of Anticoagulants. The September 2019 Physician's Orders documented, .HUMULIN R 100 U [units] /1 ML [milliliter] SOLUTION (Insulin Human Regular) units Injection Before meals and Bedtime .0-200=0, 201-250=2u, 251-300=4u, 301-350=6u, 351-400=8 [u], > [greater than] 400 call MD [Medical Doctor] . The September 2019 Medication Administration Record (MAR) documented a blood glucose level of 486 on 9/17/19 and the MD was not notified. Interview with the Regional Nurse…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2019-10-10 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure accurate documentation related to insulin administration for 1 of 5 (Resident #25) sampled residents reviewed for unnecessary medications and failed to ensure medical information was kept private and confidential for 1 of 13 (Resident #24) sampled residents. The findings include: 1. The facility's Medication Administration Subcutaneous Insulin policy, reviewed 1/14 documented, .Check prescriber's order for insulin .Determine the correct amount of insulin to be withdrawn . 2. Medical record review revealed Resident #25 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses of Acquired Absence of Right Leg, Diabetes, Anemia, Bipolar Disorder, History of Malignant Neoplasm of Cervix, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Hypertension, Long Term Use of Insulin, Anxiety Disorder, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Major Depressive Disorder, and Long Term Use of Anticoagulants. The September 2019 Physician's Orders…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to INFINITY HEALTHCARE CONSULTING — 69 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 2 of 5 | 2.0 | ≈ chain avg |
| Health inspection | 3 of 5 | 2.1 | +0.9 vs chain |
| Staffing | 1 of 5 | 1.5 | -0.5 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 3 of 5 | 3.7 | -0.7 vs chain |
The other 68 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.0★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 68; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GUBIN ENTERPRISES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 50% | since 07/01/2021 |
| CALDWELL, DONNA | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 06/05/2024 |
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $918K paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 18% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in TN
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Tennessee Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 445357. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-04-17, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.