Waters Of Sweetwater A Rehabilitation & Nursing
978 Hwy 11 South, Sweetwater, TN 37874 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 90 certified beds · (423) 337-6631 Medicare & Medicaid certified
This home has serious findings on its record. Read them closely before you consider it.
- no federal fines or payment denials on record
- fewer deficiencies at its most recent standard inspection than at the one before — a sign of improvement
- it has an abuse, neglect, or exploitation citation (F0600), cited May 2024
- inspectors cited 2 immediate-jeopardy problems — the most serious level
- a high number of inspection citations overall (19) — worth reading through, though larger and more-often-surveyed homes tend to accrue more lower-severity tags
- its facility-reported quality-measure score sits well above its independent inspection score
- its independent health-inspection rating is low (2/5)
- its payroll-based staffing rating is low (1/5)
- about 20% of its spending goes to commonly-owned related companies
One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.
A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.
| Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified | 2 of 5 |
| StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) | 1 of 5 |
| Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility | 5 of 5 |
Worth a closer look. This home's quality-measure rating runs 3 stars above its independent health-inspection score. The inspection is done by state surveyors; the quality-measure score leans on data the facility reports about itself — so a gap this large is worth reading the inspection record for.
Location & what’s nearby
Open in Google Maps ↗ · Directions ↗ · Larger map ↗
Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.
Quality measures — how residents actually fare
| Overall quality measures | 5 of 5 |
| Long-stay residentspeople who live here | 5 of 5 |
| Short-stay residentsrehab / post-hospital | 3 of 5 |
Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.
Trend — is this home getting better or worse?
Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.
Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
| Measure | This home | State avg | Typical state | vs typical state |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased | 2.1% | 14.0% | 15.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.0% | 6.1% | 5.4% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.9% | better |
| Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.8% | 2.0% | better |
| Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms | 34.9% | 13.8% | 6.5% | worse than state‡ — see note marked double-dagger below the table |
| Long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury | 2.9% | 3.4% | 3.3% | better |
| Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened | 3.9% | 17.2% | 16.1% | better |
| Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 22.2% | 31.7% | 18.9% | worse |
| Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 95.1% | 94.5% | 95.3% | typical |
| Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.9% | 5.0% | 4.7% | better |
| Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control | 19.1% | 20.0% | 21.2% | better |
| Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication§ — see the note below the table | 19.8% | 16.8% | 17.1% | worse |
| Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication | 2.6% | 1.7% | 1.4% | worse |
| Short-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine | 93.9% | 79.8% | 79.4% | better |
| Short-stay residents rehospitalized after admission | 30.5% | 22.6% | 22.6% | worse |
| Short-stay residents with an outpatient ER visit | 10.2% | 11.2% | 12.0% | better |
‡ On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.
§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.
CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.
Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital
Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.
48.8% of the Medicare patients who left this home got back to the community and stayed there for at least 31 days — which CMS reads as no different from the national rate. This is CMS’s risk-adjusted rate over 49 Medicare stays in Oct 2022–Sep 2024, and CMS’s own comparison — not ours.
Met the expected recovery: 61.5% of this home’s Medicare short-stay residents left it at or above the ability to care for themselves and move around that CMS predicted for them, across 26 stays in Oct 2024–Sep 2025. The median of the 11,061 homes CMS publishes this for is 56.6%. Read it beside the getting-home figure, not instead of it: unlike the two measures above, CMS makes no better-or-worse call on this one and publishes no confidence interval for it, so this is a comparison and not a verdict — but it is the short-stay measure that separates homes most, and the one to ask about.
Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.27 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 40% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.
Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 13% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.
This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.
See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
| Measure | This home | U.S. median | Period covered | CMS’s call |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNF | 48.8%CMS range 34.1–64.0 | 51.5% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF | 9.3%CMS range 6.4–13.2 | 10.7% | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at discharge | 61.5% | 56.6% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at discharge | 42.3% | 52.8% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at discharge | 26.9% | 50.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified | 100.0% | 98.7% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care setting | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final discharge | not reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure. | — | ||
| Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay | 0.0% | 0.0% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened | 0.0% | 1.9% | Oct 2024–Sep 2025 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
| Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalization | 6.1%CMS range 3.2–12.1 | 7.1% | Oct 2023–Sep 2024 | no different from U.S. |
| Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs | 0.84 | 1.02 | Oct 2022–Sep 2024 | CMS makes no comparison for this measure |
From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.
Staffing
How full it usually is: this home is certified for 90 beds and averages 68.8 residents a day — about 76% occupied, or roughly 21 beds typically open. It usually has some room. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.
Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.33 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.35 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.90 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.
Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.00 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.47 on weekdays — 13% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.41 to 0.20 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)
This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 53% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 1 administrator has left in the past year.
Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.
Inspection trend
Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.
Inspection deficiencies
State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.
Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.
19 citations, most serious first. The 12 most serious are shown; the remaining 7 are one tap away and print in full.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2022-10-08 · tag F0678 — failed to provide CPR when needed — isolatedProvide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, review of national guidelines for Basic Life Support, medical record review, interview, and review of personnel records, the facility failed to honor resident wishes to receive Basic Life Support services (BLS, medical care requiring knowledge and skills in cardiopulmonary resuscitation [CPR] and use of an Automated External Defibrillator [AED], a portable lifesaving device designed to treat people experiencing sudden cardiac arrest) for 1 resident (Resident #65) of 8 residents reviewed for death. The facility's failure to provide basic life support for Resident #65 placed the resident in Immediate Jeopardy (a situation in which the provider's noncompliance with one or more requirements of participation has caused, or is likely to cause serious injury, harm, impairment, or death to a resident). Resident #65 was pronounced dead on [DATE] after CPR was discontinued. The Administrator was notified of the Immediate Jeopardy at F-678 on [DATE] at 5:54 PM. The facility was cited an…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Immediate jeopardy · J2022-10-08 · tag F0867 — failed to act on quality-improvement findings — isolatedSet up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, review of national guidelines for Basic Life Support, medical record review, review of personnel files, and interview, the facility failed to follow the Quality Assurance Performance Improvement (QAPI) policy to develop corrective actions for an adverse event when Resident #65, who was a full code (a resident who is to receive basic life support [BLS] if found unresponsive or in cardiac arrest), was found unresponsive. The staff initiated cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), then discontinued CPR without an order from a physician prior to EMS (Emergency Medical Services) arrival. The facility's failure placed Resident #65 in Immediate Jeopardy (a situation in which the provider's noncompliance with one or more requirements of participation has caused, or is likely to cause serious injury, harm, impairment, or death to a resident). Resident #65 was pronounced dead on [DATE] after CPR was discontinued. The Regional Director of Clinical Services and Administrator were notified of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · E2025-08-06 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — patternProvide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview, the facility failed to follow a physician's order related to monthly weight monitoring for 3 residents (Resident #32, #40, and #67) of 6 residents reviewed for weight monitoring. The findings include: Review of a policy titled Weights, revised 4/17 revealed, .All residents will be weighed upon admission .then weekly for three weeks .then be weighed monthly . Review of the medical record revealed Resident #32 admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Adult Failure to Thrive, Protein Calorie Malnutrition, and Diastolic Congestive Heart Failure. Review of an annual Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #32 scored a 13 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment which indicated the resident was cognitively intact. Review of the comprehensive care plan for Resident #32 revised 8/4/2025, revealed .nutritional status is compromised .Weigh the resident monthly . Review of a Physicians Order…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-06 · tag F0583 — failed to protect personal privacy — isolatedKeep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interviews, the facility failed to ensure resident health information remained private and confidential for 1 resident (Resident #4) of 3 residents observed during medication administration, which had the potential to allow unauthorized individuals access to the resident's private health information.The findings include: Review of the facility's undated policy titled, What is HIPAA, revealed .any and all health information on a resident .that identifies an individual .in any form such as .electronic records .shall be the policy of the facility to protect and safeguard the PHI [Protected Health Information] created, acquired and maintained . Review of the medical record revealed Resident #4 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Cirrhosis of Liver, History of Falling, and Muscle Weakness. During an observation and interview on 8/5/2025 at 7:45 AM, on the upper 200 hall, revealed Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) E…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-06 · tag F0644 — isolatedCoordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review and interview, the facility failed to ensure a Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review (PASARR) screen was accurate after new mental health diagnoses were identified for 2 residents (Resident #67, and #33) of 9 residents reviewed for PASARR.The findings include:Review of the facility's policy titled, Guidelines for PASRR [Pre-admission Screening and Resident Review] {PASSARR} Process, dated 5/17/2023, revealed .federally mandated process that requires all states to pre-screen all residents .identify people, including adults, (residents), with mental illness .to ensure people, (residents), receive the required services for mental illness .people, residents, who are confirmed to have ID [Intellectual Disability], DD [Developmental Disability], or MI [Mental Illness] are evaluated to determine need for services .Review of the medical record revealed Resident #67 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnosis including Chronic Lung Disease. Further…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2025-08-06 · tag F0761 — failed to label and store drugs safely — isolatedEnsure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on facility policy review, manufacturer guidelines review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to properly store medications and biologicals in 1 of 2 medication rooms reviewed.The findings include:Review of the undated facility policy titled, Medication Storage in the Facility, revealed, .Medications and biologicals are stored safely, securely, and properly following the manufacturer or supplier recommendations .outdated, contaminated, or deteriorated drugs .will be immediately withdrawn from stock .they will be disposed of according to drug disposal procedures .facility staff will assure that the multi-dose vial is stored following manufacturer's suggested storage conditions .Review of the undated manufacturer guidelines titled, APLISOL - tuberculin purified protein derivative [TB ppd] injection [an injectable medication used to detect the bacteria that causes Mycobacterium tuberculosis] revealed, .Storage .This product should be stored between .36* [degrees] and 46* F [degrees Fahrenheit] .Vials in use more than 30 days should be discarded due to possible…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-08-06 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observations, and interview, the facility failed to offer hand hygiene assistance prior to meals for 3 residents (Resident #6, #16, and #77) of 2 of 4 hallways observed for meal tray distribution and staff failed to perform appropriate hand hygiene when serving residents' meal trays for 3 residents (Resident #63, #43, and #44) on 2 of 4 hallways. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Resident Dining Services, dated 12/16/2006, revealed .Staff members assigned to passing meal trays will practice proper hand hygiene techniques (handwashing or hand sanitizer) between each resident served on the hall .Review of the facility's policy titled, Handwashing/Hand Hygiene, revised 8/2014, revealed .facility considers hand hygiene the primary means to prevent the spread of infections .All personnel shall follow the handwashing/hand hygiene procedures to help prevent the spread of infections .Residents .encouraged to practice hand hygiene .Use an…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · F2024-05-15 · tag F0732 — widespreadPost nurse staffing information every day.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on facility policy review, record review, observation, and interview the facility failed to post accurate staffing information to reflect daily staffing levels and failed to document Registered Nurse (RN) hours. The findings include: Review of the facility policy titled, Guidelines for BIPA (Benefits Improvement and Protection Act) Staffing Posting Requirement, revised 7/24/2023, revealed .SNF's [Skilled Nursing Facilities] must post daily, at the beginning of each shift, the specific shift schedule for the 24-hour period, the number and category of nursing staff employed or contracted by the facility for each 24-hour period, as well as the total number of hours worked by licensed nursing staff . During an observation on 5/13/2024 at 10:10 AM, of the daily nurse staff posting, revealed the staffing information posted reflected staffing for 4/26/2024 and had not been updated to reflect the current staff in the facility on 5/13/2024. Review of the facility's daily nurse staff posting sheets revealed no RN hours had been documented for the following dates: 4/25/2024, 5/8/2024,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-05-15 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on facility policy review, observation, and interview the facility failed to ensure food items were sealed properly, which had the potential to affect 69 of 70 residents. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Food Storage Areas, dated 6/04/2021, revealed .Spice jars should be closed when not in use .opened food should be transferred to an airtight container or zip lock bag . Observation of the food preparation room on 5/13/2024 at 10:30 AM, with the Dietary Manager (DM), revealed the following items were not sealed and open to air: One 16-ounce (oz) bottle of garlic powder One 19-oz bottle of onion powder One 42-oz box quick oats ¾ full During an interview on 5/13/2024 at 10:40 AM, the DM stated dry cereal and dried seasoning are to be fully sealed after use. The DM confirmed the food items had not been stored properly.
- Potential for harm · D2024-05-15 · tag F0600 — failed to protect residents from abuse and neglect — isolatedProtect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, review of a facility investigation, and interview the facility failed to prevent physical abuse for 1 resident (Resident #52) of 70 residents reviewed for abuse. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Abuse Prevention Program, dated 10/22/2022, revealed .it is the policy of this facility to prevent resident abuse .the facility desires to prevent abuse .by establishing a resident-sensitive and resident-secure environment . Medical record review revealed Resident #52 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Osteoarthritis, Polyneuropathy, and Anxiety. Review of a comprehensive care plan for Resident #52 revised 4/25/2024, revealed .risk for adverse reaction R/T [related to] psychotropic drug use .Chronic pain syndrome . Review of an admission Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #52 scored a 9 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment which indicated the resident had…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-05-15 · tag F0645 — isolatedPASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to identify related conditions that requires Level 2 PASRR (Preadmission Screening and Resident Review) evaluation for 1 resident (Resident #50) of 12 residents reviewed for an initial PASRR submission. The findings include: Medical record review revealed Resident #50 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), Anxiety, Adjustment Disorder with Depression, and Insomnia. Review of a PASRR for Resident #50 dated 4/4/2023, revealed .Level 1 Form .any or all .mental health conditions that are diagnosed or suspected for this individual now or in the past .No mental health diagnosis is known or suspected . Review of a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Note for Resident #50 dated 4/29/2024, revealed, .PSYCHIATRIC HISTORY AND PROBLEMS .Anxiety .PTSD .Depressive Disorder . During an interview on 5/15/2024 at 2:55 PM, the Human Resource Manager (HRM) stated the PASRR dated…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2024-05-15 · tag F0657 — failed to keep the care plan current — isolatedDevelop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, and interview the facility failed to revise a comprehensive care plan for 1 resident (Resident #44) of 19 residents reviewed for care plans. The findings include: Medical record review revealed Resident #44 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Chronic Kidney Disease, Congestive Heart Failure, and Diabetes. Review of a comprehensive care plan for Resident #44 dated 12/29/2023, revealed .had a potential for complications related to hemodialysis for diagnosis of stage 5 Chronic Kidney Disease .intervention .[Dialysis Clinic] Dialysis, Monday, Wednesday, Friday; chair time 10:30 AM . Review of a quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #44 scored a 13 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment which indicated the resident was cognitively intact and received dialysis (process that removes waste products and excess fluid from the blood). During an interview on 5/14/2024 at 8:04 AM,…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
Show the remaining 7 citations
- Potential for harm · D2024-05-15 · tag F0814 — failed to dispose of garbage properly — isolatedDispose of garbage and refuse properly.
What the surveyor found here — the official record, unedited, may be distressing
Based on facility policy review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure garbage and refuse were properly contained in 2 of 2 dumpsters (dumpster A and B). The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Trash Disposal, dated 2/27/2020, revealed .dispose of trash appropriately and maintain the dumpster area for cleanliness and prevention of rodents .will ensure the dumpster lids are closed .no trash is on the ground surrounding the dumpsters . Observation of the outside dumpster area on 5/13/2024 at 10:40 AM, with the Dietary Manager (DM), revealed 2 dumpsters present for waste disposal. The entry doors on both sides of Dumpster A and B were open. The area around dumpster A and B had multiple disposable gloves, 2 broken office chairs, and 2 ripped mattresses on the ground surrounding both dumpsters. During an interview on 5/13/2024 at 10:50 AM, the DM confirmed the dumpster area had not been maintained in a sanitary condition.
- Potential for harm · D2024-05-15 · tag F0842 — failed to keep accurate, complete medical records — isolatedSafeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, and interviews, the facility failed to obtain an updated physician order for 1 resident (Resident #44) of 19 residents reviewed for Physician's Orders. The findings include: Medical record review revealed Resident #44 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Chronic Kidney Disease, Congestive Heart Failure, and Diabetes. Review of the Physician's Orders for Resident #44 dated 12/27/2023, revealed .Hemodialysis on Monday, Wednesday and Friday . Review of a quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], revealed Resident #44 scored a 13 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status (BIMS) assessment which indicated the resident was cognitively intact and received dialysis (process that removes waste products and excess fluid from the blood). During an interview on 5/14/2024 at 8:04 AM, Resident #44 stated the doctor had changed her dialysis days from 3 times a week to 2 times a week. Review of a facility document for Resident #44…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2024-05-15 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interviews the facility failed to follow infection control practices during medication administration for 2 residents (Resident #63 and Resident #35) of 4 residents observed for medication administration. The findings include: Medical record review revealed Resident #63 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Need for Personal Assistance with Personal Care, Obstructive and Reflux Uropathy, and Elevated [NAME] Blood Cell Count. During an observation of medication administration on 5/14/2024 at 8:30 AM, RN A exited a resident's room without washing or sanitizing the hands. Further observation revealed RN A donned a pair of gloves and prepared medications for Resident #63. The resident's door revealed a sign STOP .ENCHANCED BARRIER PRECAUTIONS .EVERYONE MUST .Clean their hands, including before entering . RN A entered Resident #63's room wearing the same pair of gloves, did not remove the gloves, and did not wash or…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2023-09-07 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on facility policy review, observation, and interview the facility failed to properly store food items in 1 of 1 nourishment refrigerator which had the potential to affect 78 of 80 residents. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled, Nourishment Storage Areas, dated 3/25/2012, showed .facility will ensure the areas where nourishments and snacks are stored for the residents outside of the Food and Nutrition Services Department are maintained according to local/state/federal regulations and facility guidelines .Food is covered, labeled and dated appropriately .Only items intended for residents will be stored in nourishment areas . Observation and interview on 9/5/2023 at 7:51 PM, in the resident nourishment room, with the Administrator revealed there was a resident refrigerator with 2 signs posted on the front of the refrigerator. The first sign stated .Residents snacks and drinks only! Staff items will be thrown away. The 2nd sign stated, .Please make sure to label and date all food for Residents . Observation of the resident freezer showed 1- 4 pack box of…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Dcited before2023-09-07 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolatedProvide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on facility policy review, facility in-service documentation, observation, and interview the facility failed to assist or offer a resident the opportunity to perform hand hygiene before a meal on 1 of 4 hallways observed for meal service. The findings include: Review of the facility's undated policy titled, Hand Hygiene Guidelines, showed .When hands are visibly soiled .before and after eating .hands should be washed with a non-microbial or anti-microbial soap . Review of the facility's in-service documentation dated 3/21/2023, showed .Offer them a wash cloth and to wash their faces and hands before meals . Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) #1 signed the in-service sign in sheet. Review of the facility's policy titled, Meal Service, with a revised date of 9/5/2023, showed .Staff will offer hand hygiene with meals. Residents who need assistance with hand hygiene will be offered assistance as needed . Review of the staffing assignment for CNA #1 dated 9/5/2023, showed CNA #1 was responsible for 16 residents on the 500 hallway. During an observation on 9/5/2023 at 12:51 PM, CNA…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · Fcited before2022-10-08 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespreadProcure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
Based on review of the facility policy, review of the facility's use by guidelines, observation, and interview, the facility failed to ensure expired foods were not available for resident consumption in 1 of 1 walk-in cooler which had the potential to affect 72 of 73 residents in the facility. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled Storage Periods, Use By Guidelines, dated 12/6/2016, showed .Food should be stored properly and used within the appropriate time period to ensure safe and quality food is served .Expired Food items will be disposed . Review of the facility's use by guidelines, undated, showed .Ham .precooked .opened .Use By .7 days .Meats .luncheon .opened .Use by .7 days .Milk .unopened .Use By .Manufacturer's use by date . Observation on 10/2/2022 at 9:35 AM, with the Assistant Director of Dietary in the facility's walk-in cooler, showed a 1/2-pound of opened turkey bologna in a zip lock bag dated 9/5/2022, 1-pound of opened ham in a zip lock bag dated 9/22/2022, and (37) 1/2-pints chocolate milk dated 9/29/2022. During an interview on 10/2/2022 at…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
- Potential for harm · D2022-10-08 · tag F0693 — failed to provide proper feeding-tube care — isolatedEnsure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing
NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on facility policy review, medical record review, observation, and interview, the facility failed to administer an enteral feeding (liquid nutrition provided by a tube inserted into the abdomen) at the correct rate as ordered by the physician for 1 resident (Resident #11) of 1 resident reviewed for enteral feedings. The findings include: Review of the facility's policy titled Enteral Tube Care and Feeding, undated, showed .Purpose .To describe care and use of enteral tube and feeding .Verify Physician Orders . Resident #11 was admitted to the facility on [DATE] with diagnoses including Cerebral Palsy, Obstructive Hydrocephalus, Anxiety Disorder, and Adult Failure to Thrive. Review of Resident #11's Plan of Care dated 9/13/2021, showed .FEEDING TUBE .Alteration in nutritional status related to presence of feeding tube .Administer tube feeding formula .as ordered . Review of a quarterly Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment dated [DATE], showed the resident was rarely or never understood, total dependence with…
This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.
“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.
- Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
- Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
- State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Fines & penalties
No federal fines in the current CMS record.
Part of a chain
This home belongs to INFINITY HEALTHCARE CONSULTING — 69 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →
| Rating | This home | Chain avg | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | 2 of 5 | 2.0 | ≈ chain avg |
| Health inspection | 2 of 5 | 2.1 | -0.1 vs chain |
| Staffing | 1 of 5 | 1.5 | -0.5 vs chain |
| Quality measures | 5 of 5 | 3.7 | +1.3 vs chain |
The other 68 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.0★, per CMS)
Showing 40 of 68; lowest-rated first.
A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.
Who owns this facility
| Owner / manager | Type | Role | Share | Since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GUBIN ENTERPRISES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP | Organization | 5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST | 50% | since 07/01/2021 |
| GRIFFIN, RITA | Individual | W-2 MANAGING EMPLOYEE | — | since 03/27/2024 |
1 organizational owner listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.
Follow the money — this home’s finances
Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.
This home reported $1.6M paid to related parties — landlords or management companies under common ownership — equal to about 20% of its total expenses. Money routed to affiliated companies can leave a home’s own books looking lean while owners still profit; it is the mechanism regulators watch most closely in private-equity and REIT deals.
Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.
Cost & finances
Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.
What families pay in TN
This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Tennessee Medicaid page.
Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.
Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 445456. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-08-06, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →
Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →
Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.