No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Prairie View Healthcare Center

401 South First Avenue, Woonsocket, SD 57385 · For profit - Limited Liability company · 42 certified beds · (605) 796-4467 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (605) 796-4467 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
Abuse-prevention, restraint, or reporting citation — no harm found (F0609) — cited Jul 20251 actual-harm citation$8,512 in federal fines
Insights

The public record raises real questions here. Weigh the concerns below carefully.

In its favor
  • a middle-of-the-pack inspection score (3/5)
Worth asking about
  • it has a citation for its abuse-prevention policies, restraint use, or reporting and investigating of allegations (F0609) — cited below the harm level, meaning inspectors found the process wanting but did not find a resident harmed
  • it has 1 actual-harm citation
  • the CMS record shows $8,512 in federal fines (most recent 2024-06-06)
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • nursing-staff turnover (73%) runs well above the national median (45%)

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

3/5
CMS overall
3 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 3 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 4 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
602 1st St NE · (605) 539-1778 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
Lewis Drug14.5 mi
202 Main St E · (605) 539-1421 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
719 E 7th St · (605) 796-4125 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 4 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 4 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 2 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating2★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased11.7%21.3%15.4%better
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight3.7%5.6%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%2.1%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.7%2.9%2.0%better
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms11.5%5.7%6.5%worse
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.0%0.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury3.5%5.5%3.3%typical
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened11.4%19.4%16.1%better
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication34.5%17.4%18.9%worse
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%96.9%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers3.7%4.6%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control23.8%25.4%21.2%worse
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table24.7%24.6%17.1%worse
Short-stay residents who newly got an antipsychotic medication5.1%2.0%1.4%worse
Long-stay hospitalizations per 1,000 resident days1.241.521.67better
Long-stay outpatient ER visits per 1,000 resident days1.861.751.80typical

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

10.0%U.S. median 10.7%
Went back to hospital
0.21U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.15hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.02hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.21 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 24% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 8% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNF10.0%CMS range 6.0–17.710.7%Oct 2022–Sep 2024no different from U.S.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identified91.7%98.7%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF stay0.0%0.0%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsened0.0%1.9%Oct 2024–Sep 2025CMS makes no comparison for this measure
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFs0.811.02Oct 2022–Sep 2024CMS makes no comparison for this measure

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.70
RN hours/ resident / day
0.48
LPN hours/ resident / day
2.43
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.61
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.47
RN hoursweekends
73.1%
Total nursing turnover
90.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 42 beds and averages 37.8 residents a day — about 90% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.61 hrs/resident/day is at or above the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.70 is at or above the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 2.43 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 3.22 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.77 on weekdays — 15% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.79 to 0.47 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 73% is well above the national median of 45%. 3 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

2
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2025-07-24)
3
at the previous standard inspection (2024-06-06)

Deficiencies are fewer than at the previous inspection — improving. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

11 citations, most serious first — scroll within the box to see all.

  • Actual harm · Gcited before2024-06-06 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility-reported incident (FRI), observation, interview, and record review, the provider failed to ensure one of one sampled resident (29) was safely transferred out of the facility van while using the hydraulic wheelchair lift, which resulted in the resident sustaining injuries. Findings include: 1. Review of the provider's submitted SD DOH FRI revealed: *On 5/22/24 at around 5:15 p.m., resident 29 was transferred to the facility from the emergency room (ER) via the facility van. *Certified nurse aide (CNA) L instructed the resident several times to keep his arms folded in and on his lap prior to attempting [to] transfer out of the can using the [wheelchair] lift. *CNA L positioned herself on the ramp with the resident. *The wheelchair lift was still in the process of lowering to the ground when resident 29 reached out to grab onto the bar of the lift causing the platform to move which caused [CNA L] and [resident 29] to tip backwards over the lift. *CNA L…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-11-26 · tag F0678 — failed to provide CPR when needed — isolated
    Provide basic life support, including CPR, prior to the arrival of emergency medical personnel , subject to physician orders and the resident’s advance directives.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on the South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility-reported incident (FRI) review, record review, interview, observation, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure two of two registered nurses (social services director D and interim director of nursing B) initiated cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) (a life-sustaining measure) for one of one resident (1) who was found unresponsive. The resident was designated as a Full Code/Full treatment (receive all life-saving interventions, such as CPR, defibrillation, intubation, and mechanical ventilation, in the event of a medical emergency). She was found in her bed at approximately 8:24 a.m. and appeared to be pale (light shade of color) and ashen (gray) in color, cool to the touch, with no visible movement, and without a pulse. The resident had passed away. This citation is considered past noncompliance based on review of the corrective actions the provider implemented immediately following the incident.Findings Include: 1. Review of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-11-05 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on the South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility-reported incident (FRI), observation, interview, and record review, the provider failed to ensure one of one certified nursing assistant (CNA) E transported a resident with the use of the wheelchair pedals according to American Healthcare guidelines implemented by the facility, for one of one resident (1) who developed pain to her right knee, and could not bear weight on her right leg, and was transferred to the hospital emergency department (ED) for further evaluation. Findings include:1. Review of the provider's 10/20/25 submitted FRI to the SD DOH regarding resident 1 revealed on 10/19/25 at approximately 6:30 p.m. CNA E did not follow guidelines for the use of wheelchairs implemented by the facility according to the American Healthcare Association for the resident. She developed pain to her right knee and could not bear weight on her right leg and as a result, she required an evaluation at the hospital's ED for radiographic images (X-ray). The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Past Non-Compliance
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2025-07-24 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to:*Follow standard food safety practices to ensure one of one kitchen had been cleaned to maintain a sanitary environment to store, prepare, and serve food to residents related to the cleanliness of the food preparation areas.*Follow acceptable food safety practices by not having ensured that food packages were dated when opened and outdated food items were discarded from inventory in one of one observed kitchen related to food items requiring refrigeration.*Properly temp foods to prevent the spread of cross-contamination by one of one observed cook M during one of one meal services.*Ensure the use of a beard net by one of one food and nutrition service (FANS) manager (F).Findings include:1. Observation and interview on 7/21/25 at 3:30 p.m. with FANS manager F in the kitchen revealed:*He was cooking food in a pot on the stove.*He had a short beard and was not wearing a beard net.*He was the acting FANS manager.*FANS manager N had been on leave since June 2025. 2. Observation on 7/21/25 at 3:55…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2025-07-24 · tag F0695 — failed to provide proper breathing / tracheostomy care — pattern
    Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, record review, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure proper infection control practices had been followed for the cleaning and storage of oxygen equipment for two of two sampled residents (21 and 22) who required the use of a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine (a device that uses air pressure to keep breathing airways open).Findings Include:1. Observation and interview on 7/22/25 at 9:59 a.m. with residents 21 and 22 in their shared room revealed:*There were two CPAP machines on the nightstand between the residents' beds.*Resident 21's CPAP mask was attached to the machine by a hose and was on the top of his CPAP machine.*Resident 22's CPAP mask was attached to the machine by a hose and was on her pillow.*They both indicated they had brought their CPAP machines when they were admitted to the facility a couple of weeks ago.*Resident 22 stated prior to moving in she had cleaned their CPAP masks, hoses, and water tanks every day at home with hot water and…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-07-24 · tag F0551 — isolated
    Give the resident's representative the ability to exercise the resident's rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility reported incident (FRI) review, record review, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure the resident representative had been notified of an elopement and change in the resident's status for one of one sampled resident (24) with cognitive impairment. The resident was identified as at risk for elopement and had eloped (left the facility grounds without staff knowledge) on 7/4/25.Findings include:1. Review of the provider's 7/24/25 SD DOH FRI regarding resident 24 revealed:*On 7/4/25 at 6:57 p.m., resident 24 was found to be at the apartment building across the street.*She [resident 24] had signed out of the facility earlier in the day, therefore the incident was not reported.*The resident had a 5/5/25 contract agreement that the resident would not leave the premises of the facility.-This contract had been signed by resident 24 and social services director (SSD) C. It had not been signed by resident 24's resident representative.*The…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2025-07-24 · tag F0609 — failed to report abuse allegations — isolated
    Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility reported incident (FRI) review, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to report an elopement in the required timeframe to the SD DOH for one of one sampled resident (24) with cognitive impairment and identified at risk for elopement, who had eloped (left the facility grounds without staff knowledge).Findings include:1. Review of the provider's 7/24/25 SD DOH FRI regarding resident 24 revealed:*On 7/4/25 at 6:57 p.m., resident 24 was found to be at the apartment building across the street.*She [resident 24] had signed out of the facility earlier in the day, therefore the incident was not reported.*The resident had a 5/5/25 contract agreement that the resident would not leave the premises of the facility.*The resident had left the facility without staff awareness on 7/4/25, and that event had not been reported to resident 24's representative or SD DOH until 7/24/25.-That was 20 days later. 2. Review of the facilities' sign-out…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Dcited before2025-07-24 · tag F0689 — failed to keep residents free of avoidable accidents; supervise adequately — isolated
    Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on South Dakota Department of Health (SD DOH) facility reported incident (FRI) review, record review, interview, and policy review, the provider failed to:*Provide adequate supervision for one of one sampled resident (24) during an outside activity by one of one activities assistant L.*Ensure the safety of one of one sampled resident (24) with cognitive impairment, identified at risk for elopement, who had eloped (left the facility grounds without staff knowledge) on 7/4/25. Findings include:1. Review of the 4/19/25 SD DOH FRI regarding resident 24 revealed: *On 4/19/25 at 5:32 p.m. the report had been submitted that indicated resident 24 had eloped from the facility at 2:50 p.m. on 4/19/25. *The resident had told activities assistant L she wanted to see the kids at the easter egg hunt on the other side of the facility. *Resident 24 had walked around to the other side of the facility and was out of staff’s sight. *The resident was found by activities director (AD) V walking around the back side of the…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Fcited before2024-06-06 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview, record review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure necessary food safety guidelines were implemented and followed for appropriate storage and labeling of food items and for cleaning and sanitary maintenance of one of one kitchen and one of two kitchenettes. Findings include: 1. Observation on 6/3/24 from 2:43 p.m. to 3:38 p.m. during the initial kitchen tour revealed: *The water dispenser and ice machine in the dining room had a buildup of limescale in and around the machine, the metal grate was visibly rusty, and there was an unidentified black substance buildup in the catch tray. The machine was dripping water. *There were wooden storage cabinets in the dining room which contained the following outdated food items: -One bottle of caramel sauce with a Best if used by date of 15 May 2024, and an opened date of 2/8. -A jar of instant coffee with a Sell by [DATE] . The year on the jar was smudged and appeared to have been either 2021 or 2024. -A shaker of Mrs. Dash…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2024-06-06 · tag F0550 — failed to protect resident dignity and rights — pattern
    Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, and record review, the provider failed to ensure staff interactions and services were provided in a manner that maintained a resident's sense of dignity and respect by failing to: *Knock and ask permission to enter one of one sampled resident's (5) room. *Refer to one of one sampled resident (27) by a preferred nickname. *Follow two of two sampled resident (24 and 25) care plans for transfers in a dignified manner from their wheelchairs to their dining room chairs. *Provide incontinence care to one of one sampled resident (25) prior to being transferred into a dining room chair. *Maintain a homelike dining atmosphere by speaking loudly across the dining room to coworkers and other residents, and speaking about a resident (31) in front of that resident and others during two of two mealtime observations. Findings include: 1. Observation and interview on 6/3/24 at 3:27 p.m. with resident 5 in his room revealed: *He stated that workers bust in the door without knocking. *During the interview, certified nurse aide (CNA) E walked into the resident's room…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Resident Rights Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · Ecited before2023-06-14 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — pattern
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation, interview, cleaning log review, and policy review, the provider failed to ensure: *One of one flattop grease trap drawer was maintained in a clean manner free from food and grease buildup. *One of three ceiling vent fans were free from dust. *Food items such as dill relish, tomatoes, apple cider vinegar, and red wine vinegar were discarded after the item was spoiled or expired. *One of one hand soap dispenser was functional. Findings include: 1. Observation on 6/12/23 from 3:37 p.m. to 3:58 p.m. in the kitchen revealed: *The grease trap drawer under the flattop grill had burnt bits of food, noodles, and burnt grease in it. -The grease trap hole that connected the flattop grill to the drawer was caked with a thick layer of black grease. -The drawer was difficult to open due to the amount of grease. *The ceiling vent fan near the food preparation area and the cooking equipment had a layer of dust on the vent grates, and streaks of dust spreading out on the ceiling from the vent. *In the walk-in cooler, there was: -A gallon jug of dill relish that had an unknown…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction

“Cited before” means this same F-tag appears on at least one other survey date in the record we hold — counting complaint investigations as well as standard surveys, with no time limit. It is our own read of the data, not CMS’s: CMS uses repeat deficiency as a formal term tied to consecutive standard surveys, and that is a narrower test than this one. A tag marked here may or may not meet it.

Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

$8,512 in federal fines across 1 penalty.

  • $8,512 — penalty dated 2024-06-06

Dates are the dates CMS records the penalty, not the date of the conduct behind it. CMS publishes penalties on a rolling window, so this is what is currently on the public file — not the home’s lifetime history, and an older fine may attach to a problem that has since been corrected. The amounts are as imposed: the CMS file does not record whether a penalty was appealed, reduced, or paid, so we don’t say. Ask the home what each one was for and what changed since.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to EVERGREEN HEALTHCARE GROUP — 44 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 3 of 52.5+0.5 vs chain
Health inspection 3 of 52.4+0.6 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 53.3-1.3 vs chain
Quality measures 4 of 53.0+1.0 vs chain
The other 43 homes this chain runs (chain average 2.5★, per CMS)
1 of 5Alaska Gardens Health and RehabilitationTacoma, WA 1 of 5El Jen Skilled CareLas Vegas, NV 1 of 5Firesteel Healthcare CenterMitchell, SD 1 of 5Gardnerville Health & Rehabilitation CenterGardnerville, NV 1 of 5Laurel Health & Rehabilitation CenterLaurel, MT 1 of 5Livingston Health & Rehabilitation CenterLivingston, MT 1 of 5Palisade Healthcare CenterGarretson, SD 1 of 5Portland Health And RehabilitationPortland, OR 1 of 5Riverview Healthcare CenterFlandreau, SD 1 of 5Shepherd of the Valley Rehabilitation and WellnessCasper, WY 1 of 5Worland Health and RehabilitationWorland, WY 2 of 5Aspen Meadows Health And Rehabilitation CenterBillings, MT 2 of 5Canterbury HouseAuburn, WA 2 of 5Enumclaw Health and RehabilitationEnumclaw, WA 2 of 5Granite Rehabilitation and WellnessCheyenne, WY 2 of 5Independence Health And RehabilitationIndependence, OR 2 of 5Laramie Health and RehabilitationLaramie, WY 2 of 5Mountain View Health And RehabilitationCarson City, NV 2 of 5North Cascades Health and RehabilitationBellingham, WA 2 of 5Seattle Medical Post Acute CareSeattle, WA 2 of 5Shelton Health and RehabilitationShelton, WA 2 of 5Village Health CareGresham, OR 2 of 5Wind River Rehabilitation and WellnessRiverton, WY 3 of 5Fountain Springs HealthcareRapid City, SD 3 of 5La Grande Post Acute RehabLa Grande, OR 3 of 5Pahrump Health And RehabilitationPahrump, NV 3 of 5Rawlins Rehabilitation and WellnessRawlins, WY 3 of 5Royal Park Health and RehabilitationSpokane, WA 3 of 5Sage View Care CenterRock Springs, WY 3 of 5Thermopolis Rehabilitation and WellnessThermopolis, WY 3 of 5Wheatcrest Hills Healthcare CenterBritton, SD 3 of 5Windsor Health And RehabilitationSalem, OR 4 of 5Americana Health and RehabilitationLongview, WA 4 of 5Buena Vista HealthcareColville, WA 4 of 5Frontier Rehabilitation and Extended CareLongview, WA 4 of 5Hillsboro Health And RehabilitationHillsboro, OR 4 of 5Hot Springs Health & Rehabilitation CenterHot Springs, MT 4 of 5Missoula Health & Rehabilitation CenterMissoula, MT 4 of 5Polson Health & Rehabilitation CenterPolson, MT 4 of 5The Dalles Health And RehabilitationThe Dalles, OR

Showing 40 of 43; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
PACIFIC NORTHWEST SNF OPERATIONS HOLDINGS (SD) LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 08/31/2023
CHEEKS, DONALDIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
EVANS, KAYLAIndividualMANAGING CONTROL - GOVERNING BODY; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
SPIELMAN, SHIMONIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
YENOWITZ, YITZCHOKIndividualCORPORATE OFFICER; OPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
COUVE FINANCIAL SERVICES LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/04/2025
COUVE HEALTHCARE CONSULTING LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/04/2025
PACIFIC NORTHWEST OPCO MANAGEMENT LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/04/2025
PRAIRIE VIEW SNF OPERATIONS, LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
SOUTH DAKOTA SNF CONSULTING LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/04/2025
BAZYN, KRISTINEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
LIM, LANCEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
SIVERTSEN, KIMBERLYIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
CH PACIFIC NORTHWEST HOLDINGS LLCOrganizationADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023
HERZKA, YISROELIndividualADP OF THE SNFsince 08/31/2023

CMS files one row per role, so the 31 rows in the source record cover these 15 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

7 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$2.2M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-11.6%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$76K
Related-party expense3% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 51%Medicare 6%Other / private 44%

This home reported $76K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report. A reported operating loss is common in this industry and is not by itself a sign of trouble — but paired with large related-party payments it can mean profit is being taken elsewhere in the ownership structure.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2023. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$290per resident / day
operating cost
$8,827per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$260per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2023). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in SD

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the South Dakota Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in South Dakota
$9,444/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,190/mo
Nursing home (private)
$4,900/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 435118. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2025-07-24, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next