No sales calls · nothing personal collected unless you ask us to · no facility pays to be here
Text size
Contrast

Berea Center

49 Sheldon Rd, Berea, OH 44017 · For profit - Corporation · 50 certified beds · (440) 234-0454 Medicare & Medicaid certified

Call the home — (440) 234-0454 Need help choosing, fast? Free, unbiased: Eldercare Locator 1-800-677-1116
No harm-level citations or fines — but 6 lower-level deficiencies on record (see below)
Insights

This home’s record is mixed — some reassuring signs, some worth asking about.

In its favor
  • a strong health-inspection score (4/5) — the hardest rating to game (though it’s ranked within its own state, not nationally)
  • no harm-level citations in the current inspection record
  • no federal fines or payment denials on record
Worth asking about
  • its payroll-based staffing rating is low (2/5)
  • its last standard health inspection was over 3 years ago — the star rating may not reflect current conditions

One thing this read cannot see: what residents and families actually experience day to day. Public data misses the feel of a place — visit unannounced, ideally at a mealtime or on a weekend, talk to staff and families, and ask your tour questions.

A plain-English summary of the public record below — not a rating, ranking, or recommendation. We take no money from any facility.

5/5
CMS overall
5 of 5
Health inspectionSurveyor-assigned, ranked within your stateInspector-verified 4 of 5
StaffingFrom payroll records (PBJ) 2 of 5
Quality measuresSelf-reported by the facility 5 of 5

Location & what’s nearby

Hospital
★★★★ 4/5 CMS · Emergency dept. usually open 24/7 · ER 24/7
Urgent care / clinic
205 W Bagley Rd · (440) 398-8018 · Call to confirm hours
Pharmacy
212 W Bagley Rd · (440) 243-6676 · Call to confirm hours
Grocery
450 Front St · (440) 826-9390 · Call to confirm hours
Park
Cleveland Metroparks · (216) 635-3200 · Typically dawn to dusk
Place of worship
200 Mount Zion Way · (440) 234-1703

Nearest of each type, straight-line distance. Hospitals come from the CMS Hospital General Information registry; everything else from Overture Maps (public data). Hospital and park hours are typical — call ahead to confirm.

Quality measures — how residents actually fare

Overall quality measures 5 of 5
Long-stay residentspeople who live here 5 of 5

Quality-measure stars summarize outcomes CMS tracks from the assessments each home submits — avoidable hospitalizations and ER visits, falls with injury, pressure ulcers, unplanned weight loss, and long-term antipsychotic use. Because the underlying data is self-reported, weigh a high score against the independent inspection record. Long-stay = permanent residents; short-stay = rehab and post-hospital stays.

Trend — is this home getting better or worse?

Over 2025-02 to 2026-06, this home’s CMS overall rating held steady at 5 stars. From monthly CMS archive snapshots.

Horizontal axis runs 2025-02 to 2026-06. That is where CMS’s monthly archive ends, so the right-hand edge of each line is that month — not today.

Overall rating5★
Inspection scorelower = better
See all quality measures vs. state & national benchmarks
MeasureThis homeState avgTypical statevs typical state
Long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities increased3.6%5.3%15.4%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who lose too much weight2.6%6.2%5.4%better
Long-stay residents with a catheter left in their bladder0.0%0.2%0.9%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection0.0%0.4%2.0%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents with depressive symptoms16.4%30.1%6.5%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents who were physically restrained0.0%0.1%0.1%better
Long-stay residents with falls causing major injury4.5%3.2%3.3%worse
Long-stay residents whose ability to walk worsened3.4%6.1%16.1%better than state — see note marked double-dagger below the table
Long-stay residents on antianxiety or hypnotic medication68.4%25.5%18.9%check this — see note marked dagger below the table
Long-stay residents given the seasonal flu vaccine100.0%94.5%95.3%typical
Long-stay residents with pressure ulcers1.4%3.4%4.7%better
Long-stay residents with worsening bladder/bowel control6.5%21.4%21.2%better
Long-stay residents who got an antipsychotic medication — see the note below the table9.6%8.8%17.1%better

This value is several times the typical-state benchmark. It can be real, or it can be a coding artifact in what the facility submitted. Weigh it against the inspection record above.

On this measure the state average is at least twice (or half) the typical state — a gap that size is usually how the state codes and reports the measure, not how its homes actually perform. Against a benchmark this state does not sit on, a “vs typical state” verdict would mostly be measuring the state, so we compare this home with its own state instead and show both averages.

§ Antipsychotics carry an FDA boxed warning — they raise the risk of death in older people with dementia-related psychosis, and are not approved for that use. So this measure is partly a read on whether a home sedates residents instead of staffing for them. But read a low rate carefully in both directions: CMS excludes residents coded with schizophrenia (and Tourette's or Huntington's) from this measure, and federal auditors have found implausible increases in schizophrenia coding since the measure was published — so a very low rate can reflect recoding rather than less prescribing. Ask the home what share of its residents carry a schizophrenia diagnosis, and how it handles behavioral symptoms without medication.

CMS quality measures, as Care Compare shows them. For most rows lower is better (fewer falls, ulcers, hospitalizations); vaccination rates are the exception. Not every row is risk-adjusted. CMS adjusts some measures for resident mix, but falls with major injury, antipsychotic use, physical restraints and the vaccination rates are unadjusted rates — so a home caring for heavier or more behaviorally complex residents can look worse on them without providing worse care. The “typical state” column is the median of the 50 state averages — not a national average of all homes. We use it because a plain average across homes is pulled badly off course by a few states’ reporting habits (long-stay depressive symptoms is the clearest case: Illinois codes it several times higher than most states, which alone lifted the all-homes figure to about twice what a typical state records). The median of state averages resists that — but it does weigh every state equally, so a large state counts no more than a small one, and it is a benchmark of our construction rather than a CMS-published figure. better/worse means the home differs from that benchmark by more than 10% of it; closer than that reads typical. CMS does not publish how many residents each measure covers, and the counts are often small — a single resident can move a rate by several points — so treat small gaps as noise. These come from data the facility reports, so weigh them against the independent inspection record above.

Short-stay rehab — if you are coming here from a hospital

Arriving from a hospital right now? Read the discharge guide → — your appeal rights, how to slow a rushed discharge, and what to ask about the numbers below.

0.22U.S. median 0.31
Therapy hours / resident / day
0.08hours / resident / day
Physical therapy
0.10hours / resident / day
Occupational therapy
0.03hours / resident / day
Speech therapy

Therapy staffing: this home’s payroll records show 0.22 therapist hours per resident per day in 2026Q1 — more than 26% of the 13,892 homes that report any therapy hours at all.

Weekend therapy: weekend therapy hours are 10% of this home’s weekday level — it runs some therapy at the weekend, at a lower level than on weekdays. The median home that reports therapy runs 13% — weekday-focused therapy is the industry norm, not a shortfall. But recovery does not pause on a Saturday: ask what the weekend actually looks like here.

This section is about rehab stays, not living here. Most of this page — the stars, the quality measures, the inspection record — describes the home the way a permanent resident experiences it. These figures describe the short Medicare stay after a hospital discharge: a hip, a stroke, a bad infection, six weeks and home. They are different residents, different staff, often a different wing. Therapy hours are per resident in the building, not per rehab patient — the count includes every long-stay resident, and they mostly get no therapy at all. So a home with a small rehab wing inside a large nursing population reads low here even if its rehab patients get plenty of therapy, and a mostly-rehab home reads high. Use it to compare homes doing similar work, ask what a rehab resident actually gets in a day, and remember that CMS does not publish therapy minutes per patient — nobody does.

See every short-stay measure CMS publishes for this home
MeasureThis homeU.S. medianPeriod coveredCMS’s call
Got home and stayed homeRate of successful return to home or community from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Went back to hospitalRate of potentially preventable hospital readmissions 30 days after discharge from a SNFnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Met the expected recoveryPercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves and move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Self-care at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to care for themselves at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Moving around at dischargePercentage of residents who are at or above an expected ability to move around at dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication problems followed upPercentage of residents whose medications were reviewed and who received follow-up care when medication issues were identifiednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the next providerPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the next health care settingnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medication list to the familyPercentage of residents where the SNF provided a current medication list to the resident, family, and/or caregiver at final dischargenot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Falls with major injuryPercentage of SNF residents who experience one or more falls with major injury during their SNF staynot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
New or worsened pressure ulcersPercentage of residents with pressure ulcers/pressure injuries that are new or worsenednot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Infections that led to hospitalPercentage of infections residents got during their SNF stay that resulted in hospitalizationnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.
Medicare spending per stayMedicare Spending Per Beneficiary (MSPB) for residents in SNFsnot reported — The number of residents or resident stays is too small to report. Call the facility to discuss this quality measure.

From the CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Quality Reporting Program — Medicare short-stay outcomes, which is a different dataset from the long-stay quality measures above and describes a different set of residents. Where CMS risk-adjusts a measure we show its adjusted rate, and the CMS range beside it is the confidence interval CMS publishes: a home whose range is wide is a home with few stays, where one patient moves the number several points. Read the period column. These measures do not share a window — the claims-based ones (getting home, readmission, spending) lag by a year or more, because a stay has to finish and its claims settle before it can be counted. CMS’s call is CMS’s, not ours: it is the only place anyone tests whether this home differs from the national rate at all, and most homes on most measures do not. Two caveats on it. CMS tests only three of these measures — getting home, readmission, and infections that led to hospital; on the other nine it publishes a rate and no comparison, and rather than compute a verdict CMS declined to make, we say so in the column. And on readmission almost every home in the country lands on “no different”, so that row separates homes far less than getting-home does — which is why met the expected recovery, a measure CMS does not test but which spreads across the whole range, is called out above the table rather than left in this list. The U.S. median column is our own, taken across every home CMS publishes that measure for in this same file; it is not a CMS-published benchmark. Homes CMS gives no rate for are left out of it rather than counted as zero. Medicare spending per stay is a ratio, not a percentage — 1.00 means this home’s Medicare spending for a stay matched the national figure CMS compares it against, and it measures cost to Medicare, not quality of care.

Staffing

0.34
RN hours/ resident / day
1.00
LPN hours/ resident / day
1.86
Aide hours/ resident / day
3.20
Total nurse hours/ resident / day
0.24
RN hoursweekends
38.5%
Total nursing turnover
20.0%
RN turnover

How full it usually is: this home is certified for 50 beds and averages 46.1 residents a day — about 92% occupied, or roughly 4 beds typically open. It runs fairly full. This is a CMS average, not live availability — no public source publishes real-time vacancies, and a home can be full the day you call. Confirm with the home, and if you need a Medicaid bed specifically, ask about that separately: a home with open beds may still not have an open Medicaid bed.

Against a benchmark — not a legal minimum. In May 2024 CMS finalized the first federal staffing floor for nursing homes: 3.48 total nurse hours per resident per day, including 0.55 RN hours and 2.45 nurse-aide hours. Its hour requirements never took effect and are no longer on the books. Homes had until 2026 (2027 if rural) to comply, and that deadline never arrived: a federal court vacated the hour requirements in April 2025 (CMS has appealed), Congress then barred enforcement until 2034, and CMS formally repealed them by rule effective February 2026. This home is not required to meet these numbers, and is not violating anything by missing them. We still show the comparison because the figures are CMS’s own published estimate of adequate staffing, which makes them a useful yardstick — but they are our benchmark, not federal law: this home’s total nurse staffing of 3.20 hrs/resident/day is below the 3.48-hour benchmark and RN staffing of 0.34 is below the 0.55-hour RN benchmark and nurse-aide staffing of 1.86 is below the 2.45-hour aide benchmark. What federal law does require today is unchanged: “sufficient” nursing staff for residents’ needs and an RN on duty at least 8 consecutive hours a day, 7 days a week (42 CFR 483.35). Those are judged by inspectors on site, not by these averages, so read this comparison alongside the inspection record rather than as a pass/fail.

Weekend coverage: total nurse staffing is 2.92 hrs/resident/day on weekends vs 3.31 on weekdays — 12% thinner on weekends. RN hours go from 0.38 to 0.24 per resident-day. (Payroll-based daily records; the national median home is 15% thinner on weekends.)

This home’s total nursing-staff turnover of 38% is about the same as the national median of 45%. 2 administrators have left in the past year — frequent leadership churn is a warning sign families often miss.

Payroll-based (PBJ) staffing hours, as reported for Jan–Mar 2026 (CMS PBJ CY2026Q1) — the most recent quarter CMS has published, so they can lag a change of operator or staffing agency. Higher is generally better. Registered-nurse coverage and weekend staffing are the numbers families most often overlook — an RN on site matters most when something goes wrong, and coverage usually thins on weekends. High turnover means residents rarely see the same caregiver twice. One caveat: these are hours as reported, not adjusted for how sick or heavy-care this home’s residents are. CMS separately publishes a case-mix-adjusted view; we show the reported hours. A home caring for higher-acuity residents needs more hours to deliver the same care, so compare these figures against homes doing similar work, and read them next to the inspection record rather than alone.

Inspection trend

1
deficiencies at the latest standard inspection (2023-06-01)
0
at the previous standard inspection (2021-04-15)

Deficiencies are more than at the previous inspection — worsening. Fewer citations over time suggests a home is fixing problems; a rising count is a warning sign — though two surveys are a short record, and survey teams differ. These counts are from the standard annual health survey only; the full citation list below may also include findings from complaint investigations, so the two won’t always add up.

This trend is not current. The most recent of these two inspections was over 3 years ago; the arrow describes what inspectors found then, not what the home is like now.

Inspection deficiencies

State health-inspection citations, most serious first. Each carries an F-code (the federal rule it cites, e.g. F-684 = quality of care) and a letter A–L marking how serious and how widespread the problem was — we translate that grid into the plain tiers shown here. Wording is the official federal description.

ABCDEFGHIJKL

Each letter is a CMS scope-severity level; highlighted ones are where this home has citations. A–C = no harm found; D–F = potential for harm; G–I = actual harm; J–L = immediate jeopardy. Within each band the later letter is the more widespread finding (an isolated G is one resident; a widespread I is a pattern), so rightward and downward is worse.

  • Potential for harm · D2025-08-07 · tag F0880 — failed to prevent and control infections — isolated
    Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interviews, and policy review, the facility failed to ensure infection control procedures were followed during incontinence care. This affected one resident (#4) of three residents reviewed for incontinence care. The facility census was 47.Findings include:Review of the Medical record for Resident #4 revealed an admission date 04/14/23. Diagnoses included dementia, major depression, chronic kidney disease, and psychotic disorder with delusions due to known physiological condition. Review of the Minimum Data Set (MDS) dated [DATE] revealed Resident #4 had impaired cognition. Resident #4 was dependent on staff for toileting and was incontinent of bowel and bladder. Observation on 08/06/25 at 9:26 A.M. of incontinence care for Resident #4 with Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) #327 and CNA #337 revealed the CNA's both put gloves on and positioned Resident #4 in bed for incontinence care. Resident #4 was incontinent of a moderate amount of urine. CNA #327 and CNA #337 rolled Resident #4…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Infection Control Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2024-04-05 · tag F0684 — failed to provide proper treatment and quality of care — isolated
    Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on medical record review, staff interview, and facility policy review, the facility failed to comprehensively assess as well as monitor non-pressure skin areas. This affected two (Residents #13 and #14) of three residents reviewed for skin issues. The census was 50. Findings include: 1. Review of Resident #13's medical record revealed Resident #13 was admitted to the facility on [DATE]. His diagnoses included but were not limited to Alzheimer's disease, type two diabetes, atherosclerotic heart disease, anemia, schizophrenia, vitamin D deficiency, chronic kidney disease, dementia, hypertensive heart and chronic kidney disease, and hyperlipidemia. Review of Resident #13's Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessment, dated 01/06/24, revealed Resident #13 had a severe cognitive impairment. Review of Resident #13 skin assessment, dated 03/12/24, revealed the facility documented he had no new or existing skin issues. Review of Resident #13's physician orders, dated 03/15/24, revealed he was ordered Hydrocortisone…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Quality of Life and Care Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2023-08-21 · tag F0760 — failed to prevent significant medication errors — isolated
    Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on record review, observation and interview, the facility failed to ensure Resident #26 was free of significant medication errors. This affected one (Resident #26) of four residents reviewed for medication administration. The facility census was 47. Findings include: Review of the medical record for Resident #26 revealed she was admitted on [DATE] with diagnoses including dementia, dysphagia (difficulty swallowing), and hypertension (high blood pressure). Review of the physician's orders and Medication Administration Record (MAR) for Resident #26 revealed she had an order for Metoprolol Succinate 100 milligrams (mg) Extended Release (ER) in the morning for hypertension dated 08/24/22. Observation was made on 08/21/23 at 8:45 A.M. with Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) #113 of medication administration to Resident #26. LPN #113 prepared the medications, including Acetaminophen (for pain), Buspirone (for depression), Depakote (for seizures), Magnesium, Potassium, Torsemide (diuretic) and Metoprolol Succinate ER…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Pharmacy Service Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · F2023-06-01 · tag F0812 — failed to store, cook, and serve food safely — widespread
    Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    Based on observation and interview, the facility failed to maintain a clean and sanitary kitchen. This had the potential to affect all 47 residents residing in the facility. Findings included: Tour of the kitchen on 05/30/23 from 8:56 A.M. through 9:15 A.M. with Dietary Manager (DM) #857 revealed the wall where the prep table that housed the microwave had various dried splatters and red streaks running down the wall at the point of the middle shelf toward the floor. Next to the microwave was the knife holder that had various stains and debris. Observed DM #857 pickup the knife holder and underneath were various food debris and a butter knife. The commercial can opener holder had dark brownish black build up. Also on the prep table was a toaster that had various splatters and stains. On the top shelf of the prep table were various food crumbs. The front of the stove had various stains; the grease trap had a moderate amount of burnt grease build up. Next to the stove was a table that housed the steamer that had a large brownish and whitish dried on stain. The floor under this table…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · E2019-01-24 · tag F0804 — failed to serve food at safe, palatable temperature — pattern
    Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation and staff interview the facility failed to serve the lunch meal at a palatable temperature to three residents (Resident #27, #41, and #33) of 40 residents eating in the dining room. The facility census was 45. Findings Include: 1. The lunch service was observed on 01/22/19 from 12:35 P.M. through 1:10 P.M. The lunch trays were given to the three residents at approximately 12:35 P.M. At 1:05 P.M. an aide sat down next to Resident #27 and started to feed him. The meal was stopped and Dietary Manager (DM) 202 was asked to check the temperature of the resident's food. Resident #27's food temperatures were pureed pork 141 degrees Fahrenheit (F), pureed rice was 132 degrees F, and pureed carrots were 122 degrees F. Review of the Kardex (contains instructions for resident care) for Resident #27 revealed he required extensive assistance of one staff member at meals and at times may require total dependence on staff to eat his meals. The resident could not be interviewed due to cognition. 2. Resident…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
  • Potential for harm · D2019-01-24 · tag F0810 — isolated
    Provide special eating equipment and utensils for residents who need them and appropriate assistance.
    What the surveyor found here — an excerpt from the official record, may be distressing

    NOTE- TERMS IN BRACKETS HAVE BEEN EDITED TO PROTECT CONFIDENTIALITY Based on observation, interview and record review the facility failed to ensure consistent use of adaptive equipment for one resident (Resident #17) of 43 residents observed for dining (Resident #36 and Resident #38 were identified by the facility as receiving nothing by mouth). The facility census was 45 residents. Findings include: Review of Resident #17's medical record revealed an admission date of 11/01/16 and diagnoses including dementia, right wrist contracture, bipolar disorder, falls and vitamin D deficiency. Review of an annual minimum data set (MDS) 3.0 assessment dated [DATE] revealed Resident #17 was cognitively impaired, had a mechanically altered diet and had no weight loss or weight gain. Review of physician's orders in both the paper chart as well as the electronic medical record revealed Resident #17 was on a puree diet with honey thick liquids and required a small bolus spoon (adaptive device used for those with decreased oral motor strength to ensure food is entirely consumed). Review of a…

    This is the beginning of the surveyor’s statement, cut to keep the page readable — the full 2567 continues past this point and often ends with the findings that matter most, such as whether an immediate jeopardy was removed before the surveyors left. The complete statement of deficiencies is a public record: request it from your state survey agency, or ask the home for its 2567 and plan of correction — it must make them available to residents and families.

    Nutrition and Dietary Deficiencies · Deficient, Provider has date of correction
Worried about a resident here? There are three different people you can turn to, and they do different jobs:
  • Long-Term Care Ombudsman — a free, confidential advocate for the resident. They act only with the resident’s consent and work to resolve the problem. Find yours at theconsumervoice.org/get_help.
  • Adult Protective Services — the state agency that investigates suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. Not sure of your state’s APS number? The federal Eldercare Locator will route you: 1-800-677-1116 or eldercare.acl.gov.
  • State survey agency — the regulator that licenses and inspects the home. Every state has an official nursing-home complaint line and most take complaints online; the Ombudsman or Eldercare Locator can connect you.
Not sure where to start, or need other help? Dial 2-1-1 for local resources — and if a call is hard or impossible for you, many local 211s also take a text (send your ZIP code to 898-211) or a web chat at 211.org; both vary by area, and 211.org will show what yours offers. Deaf or hard of hearing: dial 711 for the telecommunications relay service, then any number above. In an emergency, call 911.
It is illegal for a facility to retaliate against a resident or family for reporting a concern: federal law gives a resident the right to voice grievances — to the home or to any outside agency — without discrimination or reprisal (42 CFR §483.10(j)(1)). You may report anonymously.

Fines & penalties

No federal fines in the current CMS record.

Part of a chain

This home belongs to COMMUNICARE HEALTH — 110 facilities. Here is how its ratings compare with the chain’s average across all its homes: See the whole chain — ratings, flags, fines and finances →

RatingThis homeChain avg
Overall 5 of 53.2+1.8 vs chain
Health inspection 4 of 52.7+1.3 vs chain
Staffing 2 of 52.6-0.6 vs chain
Quality measures 5 of 54.5+0.5 vs chain
The other 109 homes this chain runs (chain average 3.2★, per CMS)
1 of 5Allen View Healthcare CenterSpringfield, OH 1 of 5Annandale Healthcare CenterAnnandale, VA 1 of 5Canfield Healthcare CenterYoungstown, OH 1 of 5Dixon Healthcare CenterWintersville, OH 1 of 5Holbrook Healthcare CenterBuckhannon, WV 1 of 5Mount Vernon Healthcare CenterAlexandria, VA 1 of 5Southwood Healthcare CenterTerre Haute, IN 1 of 5Summers Healthcare CenterHinton, WV 1 of 5Valley View Healthcare CenterElkhart, IN 2 of 5Allison Pointe Healthcare CenterIndianapolis, IN 2 of 5Battlefield Park Healthcare CenterPetersburg, VA 2 of 5Beckley Healthcare CenterBeckley, WV 2 of 5Belmont Healthcare CenterBelmont, WV 2 of 5Berkeley Springs Healthcare CenterBerkeley Springs, WV 2 of 5Cedars Healthcare CenterCharlottesville, VA 2 of 5Columbus Healthcare CenterColumbus, OH 2 of 5Crestwood Care CenterShelby, OH 2 of 5Cumberland Healthcare CenterCumberland, MD 2 of 5Eagle Pointe Healthcare CenterParkersburg, WV 2 of 5Ellicott City Healthcare CenterEllicott City, MD 2 of 5Evergreen Crossing And The LoftsIndianapolis, IN 2 of 5Grande Pointe Healthcare CommuRichmond Heights, OH 2 of 5Great Lakes Healthcare CenterDyer, IN 2 of 5Greenbrier Health CenterParma Heights, OH 2 of 5Hagerstown Healthcare CenterHagerstown, MD 2 of 5Hanover Healthcare CenterMassillon, OH 2 of 5Holly Hill Healthcare CenterTowson, MD 2 of 5Keyser Healthcare CenterKeyser, WV 2 of 5Mercer Healthcare CenterBluefield, WV 2 of 5Morgantown Healthcare CenterMorgantown, WV 2 of 5Mount Airy Nursing and Rehab CenterMount Airy, MD 2 of 5Petersburg Healthcare CenterPetersburg, VA 2 of 5Riverside Nursing And Rehabilitation CenterDayton, OH 2 of 5Rolling Hills Healthcare CenterNew Albany, IN 2 of 5Salem West Healthcare CenterSalem, OH 2 of 5Wedgewood Healthcare CenterClarksville, IN 2 of 5Westminster Rehabilitation and Wellness CenterWestminster, MD 2 of 5Wildwood Healthcare CenterIndianapolis, IN 2 of 5Worthington Healthcare CenterParkersburg, WV 2 of 5Wyant Woods Healthcare CenterAkron, OH

Showing 40 of 109; lowest-rated first.

A home rated well below its chain’s average can signal local problems; a chain with a low average across the board is a bigger pattern worth researching. CMS chain data under-reports private-equity and REIT ownership, so treat this as a floor, not the full picture.

Who owns this facility

Owner / managerTypeRoleShareSince
HEALTH CARE LEASE FACILITIES, LLCOrganization5% OR GREATER DIRECT OWNERSHIP INTEREST100%since 01/10/2008
GROVES, DONNAIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/10/2008
ROMEO, DOMINICIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 04/01/2023
STOLTZ, CHARLESIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/10/2008
WILHEIM, RONALDIndividualCORPORATE OFFICERsince 01/10/2008
SHELDON MANAGEMENT CO. LLCOrganizationOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 01/10/2008
AFZAL, ENDIAIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 08/28/2023
SABBAGH, EMILEIndividualOPERATIONAL/MANAGERIAL CONTROL; ADP OF THE SNFsince 04/01/2019

CMS files one row per role, so the 11 rows in the source record cover these 8 parties — each is shown once here with every role it holds. Nothing is omitted.

2 organizational owners listed — a facility can be part of a larger chain. CMS ownership data is known to under-report private-equity and REIT ties; treat as a starting point.

Follow the money — this home’s finances

Where a nursing home’s revenue comes from and where it goes — including money paid to companies under the same ownership. Most consumer sites never show this; we reproduce it straight from the Medicare cost report.

$5.2M
Net patient revenuemost recent cost report
-0.7%
Operating marginrevenue minus expenses
$454K
Related-party expense9% of expenses
Who pays — share of resident-days
Medicaid 83%Medicare 1%Other / private 16%

About 83% of this home’s resident-days are paid by Medicaid, which reimburses well below the cost of care in most states. Heavily Medicaid-dependent homes run on thinner budgets — a context worth holding next to the staffing and inspection record, not a fault in itself. This home reported $454K paid to related parties (affiliated landlords or management companies) in its most recent cost report.

Source: CMS Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS), Medicare cost report Form CMS-2540 · fiscal year 2024. Facilities self-file these reports; figures are unaudited and a year or two behind. A home with no Medicare cost report on file shows no figures here.

Cost & finances

$299per resident / day
operating cost
$9,082per month
≈ monthly operating cost
$297per day
avg. revenue, all payers

Straight from this home’s Medicare cost report (CMS, FY2024). These are its operating economics — what it costs to run per resident-day and what it collects on average across Medicare, Medicaid, and private pay — not a private-pay quote. Your out-of-pocket cost depends on payer and room type, so ask the facility directly; a higher operating cost can reflect richer staffing or a sicker population. The cost-of-care planner shows regional benchmarks by care type.

What families pay in OH

Paying with Medicaid

This is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing home, so it can accept Medicaid for long-term care — like nearly all U.S. nursing homes. The private-pay figures below are what families without Medicaid pay; once a resident qualifies for Medicaid, out-of-pocket cost for covered nursing-home care is typically close to $0 (almost all of their income goes to the home as their share of the cost; they keep a small personal needs allowance — for clothing, haircuts, a phone — and Medicaid pays the rest). The amount of that allowance is set by each state. Confirm Medicaid-bed availability with the home, and see the Ohio Medicaid page.

Typical monthly cost in Ohio
$9,186/mo
Nursing home (semi-private)
$10,389/mo
Nursing home (private)
$6,103/mo
Assisted living

Median private-pay cost, CareScout (Genworth) 2025 Cost of Care Survey — a regional midpoint, not any single community’s rate. Private rooms and higher care levels cost more; ask for a current quote. Project your own in the cost-of-care planner.

Every figure above is reproduced from the CMS Provider Data Catalog (a public record), from the CMS extract processed 2026-08-01 — CMS provider number 365893. CMS refreshes its data monthly, and the star rating rests on the last standard inspection — dated 2023-06-01, which can lag current conditions. Staffing hours are CMS PBJ CY2026Q1 (Jan–Mar 2026). Check this record against the government’s own page for it: this home on Medicare Care Compare ↗ — the authoritative source, and the place to confirm anything here before you act on it. How we present it →

Not a government site. Eldercare Lens is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Medicare, or any government agency. The star ratings, citations, and inspection wording on this page are reproduced from the public CMS record; the plain-English summaries, tiers, and comparisons around them are ours. We do not speak for CMS, and CMS has not reviewed this page. For the official record, go to Medicare Care Compare. How we’re funded →

Are you this operator? If the record here is out of date, or misses what you have since fixed, tell us and we will look: hello@eldercarelens.com. We reproduce the public CMS record and cannot change what it says — corrections to the underlying data go through CMS and your state survey agency — but we will correct anything we have got wrong about it, and we will say so on the page.

What to do next